ICB Blessed Garden Bible Review

“Grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Glory be to him now and forever. Amen!”  -2 Peter 3:18

I love doing reviews on Bibles because I already know that the content is great……some may be translated differently and are designed differently, but the main content is pretty consistent. I will be sharing my thoughts about the design, layout and translation.biblefbThis Holy Bible is a nice hardback in the ICB (International Children’s Bible) translation. It was published by Tommy Nelson. This is my first experience with the ICB and how it reads. It is geared toward a 3rd grade reading level, making it a nice starter Bible, although some of the content would still be hard for a third grader to read (especially certain areas of the Old Testament, but I don’t think there’s any way to avoid that).

I liked how the inside had quite a few full color/designed pages and that contained everything from a presentation page, help pages, maps, timelines and more. I love putting this extra information into kids hands because it opens up learning to a new level. And when you, as a parent get involved too, that just makes it even better!biblecollageI liked that this Bible has a page for family history, making it a piece that could be passed down from generation to generation. It also has some other great helpful pages like: Why should I read the Bible, How do I know Jesus loves me, good verses to commit to memory, space to write your own favorite verses, How to pray, How to study the Bible, How to Forgive and more! These are all such important subjects that you and your young one can tackle together with helpful wise guidance and scripture references.biblefamily.jpgIt also has helpful Key Verse Highlights (such as: love, patience, temptation wisdom, etc) with specific Bible verses listed below that reference that subject. I used this tool a lot when I was younger and I think it helps little ones learn how to cross-reference and really “study” the words and how they’re repeated in the Bible.

I skimmed the ICB translation and found it to be well done. My daughter is not ready to read it herself, but she loved the look and feel of this Bible. It has cute swirling, floral details with bits of foil, glitter and winsome woodland garden illustrations.

Overall, I thought this was a cute, well put together Bible. It has a lot of helpful features for a new reader and the special pages are specifically written to help guide into the importance of prayer, reading and studying the Bible and more. All of those extra features are really what sells this Bible for me. Lots of Bibles are good, but this one contains a lot of extras that I don’t normally see. Plus it’s really cute and right on trend with the organic garden feel.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

