Exploring Burr Oak Woods Nature Center + Get 2 FREE Missouri Magazines

on

This week, on a spur of the moment, I decided to take the kids to the Burr Oak Woods Nature Center. I hadn’t been in several years, when Josephine was a toddler, so I’d really forgotten what all was there. It was a lot of fun and the weather was perfect! It’s located at 1401 NW Park Rd, Blue Springs, MO 64015. natureDriving in, we saw several play ground and picnic areas (Pink Hill Park)….we did not stop there this time, but it’s an additional option for another day when we bring a sack lunch. At the nature center, we saw lots of taxidermy animals, a talking Smokey the Bear (which the kids loved pressing the button on over and over again), some live critters and lots of pretend habits with animals that looked real. My kids enjoyed exploring everything. My oldest was in summer school, but she would have been able to read more of the educational things offered, so we’ll just have to go back again soon!nature1They had a blast at the indoor play area with a slide, puppets, books and puzzles. The windows were large and looked out over lots of birds feeding, squirrels playing and insects buzzing. There was an indoor space with picnic tables for eating and a small shop where I bought a book about Missouri’s most common mushrooms (which ones are edible and which ones aren’t) with pictures and recipes. I’ve only ever hunted Morels, but I was surprised to see that there were a lot more that could be eaten.natureplayAfter we explored inside, we hit the nice trails outside. They were well shaded with lots of trees and so it didn’t seem unbearably hot. The trail was smooth and it was easy to take the stroller on. I usually can’t take it on trails that are made out of small rocks, so it was nice to have the smooth ride. The loop took about 15-20 minutes to walk, depending on your pace and how much you stop to explore. They also had a nice lookout deck and a bridge and occasional seating if you needed a rest.naturetrailIf you are a Missouri resident and 18 or over, you can receive 2 publications for FREE! We just got ours in the mail. They have The Conservationist and a kids magazine called XPLOR. Just go HERE and fill out the form. My kids LOVE getting mail and the magazines are filled with educational information about Missouri and great pictures!naturebrosI thought it was such a surprisingly fun trip and would definitely recommend a visit if you live in the area. My kids look forward to going again. Do you have a nature center near you?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    That looks like a lot of fun! I can tell the boys loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      They did and I did! It was a good option for us because the trail was pretty contained so I didn’t have to worry about them running off somewhere else.

      Like

  2. I love visiting nature centers in the summer with my kids. It’s such an educational place to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This place looks like so much fun! My kids love anything that has to do with being outside or animals:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      I loved that even though it was hot outside, the shaded trail felt perfect!

      Like

  4. shelahmoss says:

    The Burr Oak Woods Nature Center looks like a wonderful place to take the children. My daughter loves interactive exhibits and always enjoys visiting our local nature center.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kidcongeniality says:

    My son would love to visit the Burr Oak Woods Nature Center. I’m glad you all had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Debbie says:

    We have a nature center similar to this near us but yours is WAY nicer! I love the little play area with the slides!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      It was really nice and clean…unlike some I’ve visited.

      Like

  7. this looks so fun!!! i love that it’s a combo of a playground, outdoors, and also learning. i wish this was near me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      Yes, the play area was a great surprise for us! Perfect for rainy/snowy days!

      Like

  8. Maria Roth says:

    Getting my magazines! Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

