You Know You’re a Mom by Harry H. Harrison Jr.

You Know You’re A Mom was written by the bestselling author, Harry H. Harrison Jr. It was published by Thomas Nelson. It is a small hardback book with a bright floral cover and filled with quotes for moms to relate to. The book has 7 sections for moms of different stages: pregnant moms, moms of a baby, toddler moms, moms of school aged children, working mom, teen moms and moms of adult kids. Some of them are funny, some of them are sentimental and some of them you may not get yet. It is a fun book to pick up and flip through or to quote with your mom friends for a little smile.

When you have kids, your life changes forever. It becomes more wonderful, more chaotic, more ironic and more humorous. Sometimes just to keep my sanity, I have to cling to those crazy moments or things I never thought I’d say (like don’t stick that up your nose!) and share with other moms because I know I’m not alone in this crazy thing.

Before I even knew this book existed, I started compiling my own list of – You know you’re a mom when…..

1. The word privacy means come on in, lets see how many people we can fit in here.

2. You’ve reheated your coffee so many times that you decide to just make it iced.

3. When you have to check your shirt for boogers, stickers or to make sure you have matching shoes before going out into public.

4. You may or may not be known to hide in your closet to eat a candy bar.

5. You find a bouncy ball in your bra when you’re getting ready for bed that you took away from the kids 12 hours prior.

There are a lot of statements in the book that I could relate too. I was hoping there were more funny ones, because I am fueled by the humor of motherhood. It was a cute little book, but overall, I would not say it’s a must have. It didn’t make me laugh aloud like I hoped it would. It might be a fun book to give as a gift, but I almost think that you could have more fun polling your mom friends on Facebook (or a blog) for their own personal answers.

So let’s do it!

I want to hear your “You Know You’re A Mom” moments! Share in the comments! 

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelah says:

    What a hilarious book! I knew I was a mom when being urinated on was no longer upsetting.

    Like

  2. Ha! I like your list! Too bad there weren’t more funny ones in the book, but it would probably still be cute as a shower gift. Mine….You know you’re a mom when you’ve wiped three butts before 10 am, and not one of them was your own.

    Like

    1. breetalks says:

      Hahaha Love it!

      Like

  3. Debbie says:

    lol You pretty much said all of mine. You know you’re a mom when you finally get a chance to leave the house and realize you haven’t looked in the mirror at yourself all day. Not even once. You catch a glimpse of yourself in some store mirror and you think, “holy cow!!!!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      HAHAHA! I had that moment when we went to a church Easter Egg hunt this year. I got in the car (afterwards) and realized I hadn’t put any makeup on and my husband realized that he didn’t comb his hair….needless to say, looking nice is a luxury that we rarely afford ourselves. 🙂 I’d much rather sleep those extra 5 minutes anyways.

      Like

  4. Nicci says:

    Yes on the privacy!!
    I would add. . . you know you’re a mom when you still use the phrase “I need to go potty” when referring to a restroom when you’re out with adults.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      ALWAYS!! And also I’m completely unfiltered when talking about kids bodily fluids while eating with other moms…..it’s like I forget that it might not be normal or appropriate table talk because it’s so ingrained into my being.

      Like

  5. Alana says:

    Yes to all of these! And to build on one of your points, you know you’re a Mom when you leave the house only to find baby puke on your clothes 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      And it’s usually because I smell it and am like “What stinks?!” Oh, I do. Haha

      Like

  6. Haha you know your a mom when gross stuff doesn’t phase you anymore. I was someone who was sos scared of anything gross… these days I’m immune to grossness lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

