The BEST Poppy Seed Bread Ever

poppyseedPoppy seed bread has always been an Easter tradition in my family. My mom would make each family their own loaf. And each family would fight for it until the last piece. I have never loved anyone else’s poppy seed bread as much as my moms. I finally asked her for the recipe so I could start implementing the tradition into my family, although we have it a lot more often than Easter. My daughter is it’s biggest fan and when her friends turn their nose up at it, she says, “most people don’t know they like poppy seed bread, but everyone likes it.”

And they do.

The original recipe called for regular milk, but my mom improved the recipe by using vanilla almond milk. It makes a yummy difference, but I don’t always have it in my fridge so experiment as needed for your taste and what you have.

Bread (Makes 2 Loaves):

  • 3 cups sifted flour
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk (can use regular)
  • 1 1/2 cups oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon almond flavoring
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla flavoring
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon butter flavoring

Mix all ingredients together with electric mixer (I use my Kitchen Aid) for 2 minutes or until well combined. Pour into 2 greased loaf pans. Bake at 350 for approximately 50-60 minutes or until baked through. I have a gas oven that bakes hot so I had to adjust the temperature and baking time a bit, but this is a good starting point. Just keep your eye on it occasionally.

Glaze (For 2 Loaves):

  • 1/4 cup orange juice (No Pulp is Best)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond flavoring
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla flavoring
  • 1/2 teaspoon butter flavoring

Let loaves sit for a few minutes and then pour glaze over while it’s still warm. Let cool completely before gently removing from pans.poppyseed1The bread is good warm, but (in my opinion) is even better when it’s cooled! When it’s warm, you taste a lot of the orange juice from the glaze and when it’s cooled, the glaze has a nice dried crunchy sugary texture and you can barely taste the orange juice. To store, seal in a zip lock bag and leave on counter if you’re going to eat it quickly or put in freezer for another time. They also make yummy day brightening gifts for neighbors or friends!

WARNING!!! Consuming poppy seeds can result in positive results on a drug screening test! Did you know?! Haha It’s true! It registers in urine tests as opium. This fact makes the scene from Wizard of Oz of everyone falling asleep in the Poppy field make a lot more sense.

ENJOY!!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum! This sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try this, and I’m sure my boys will love it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks delish! I’ve never had poppy seed bread without lemon in it before!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. breetalks says:

      Yes, I’m not a big fan of lemon so I never liked the one’s that had it in it. I think you will too!

      Like

  3. Whoooaaaa I never knew before about the effect of the poppy seed! Anyway, the bread looks so delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That sounds good! My youngest is DF, so it’s cool that it is made with almond milk. Can’t wait to try it.

    Like

  5. Liz Cleland says:

    I had no idea if you consumed poppy seeds you could alert a drug test! Well, I am still going to try this recipe out anyways!

    Like

    1. breetalks says:

      Just don’t eat the whole loaf in one sitting. šŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

