Real MVP Kids Books -Celebrate! Our Differences & Celebrate! Bedtime

I was recently contacted to review a couple Real MVP Kids books on my blog. I was excited to find out that the author is the sister of a friend of mine from college. They recently launched a Kickstarter campaign and through amazing support, reached their goal! This proves that there is a need and excitement surrounding these books. I was sent a copy of these books to download for free for my review, so I can’t comment on the actual feel of the books in hand, but will review the content and share a couple screenshots.

Real MVP Kids is an Arizona based media company. The series uses 16 characters from diverse cultures, with a wide range of ethnic and experiential backgrounds, to help a wide range of children identify and empathize with. They also provide Helpful Teaching Tips at the end of each book as a resource for parents. For example, this is a small section from Celebrate! Our Differences.

Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 10.14.27 PM

I thought the specific examples that they provided were very helpful in knowing how I could steer judgement into healthy observations, for my kids and myself.

celebratedifferences

The first book we read was Celebrate! Our Differences. It came at a good time for my family. I always try to talk to my kids about the differences they see before they say something that might embarrass someone, but kids are so observant and blunt that sometimes it’s hard to prevent. That’s why resources like this book are so important. It helps guide the parent, as well as the child, with well researched information on the topic. Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 3.02.03 PMThis book addresses some of the differences that kids pick up on, such as physical appearance. I love the spin it puts on what our eyes are used to seeing as differences, our hearts can respond to the similarities we have with each other. The common phrase throughout is “we’re more alike than different” and it’s good to talk about both in a positive light. This book definitely does that.Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 3.04.22 PM

CELEBRATE! Bedtime

celebratebedtime

Celebrate! BedTime is not like any other bedtime book I’ve read to my kids. It takes you through 12 families and how they say “goodnight” in their native languages (Spanish, Swahili, Korean, Hindi, Italian, Arabic, just to name a few).Screenshot 2017-04-23 at 5.17.29 PMIt was neat to practice those languages as a family. It’s amazing how interested kids are in hearing foreign languages and how proud they are to be “speaking” them. Screenshot 2017-04-23 at 5.16.36 PMThe books also share some of the struggles kids have with bedtime and ways adults can talk to them and comfort them. Does your family have a specific bedtime routine? Here are some Helpful Teaching Tips from this book to consider.

Screenshot 2017-04-28 at 10.15.14 PM

As a mom to 4, every child is unique (even within the same family) and responds differently to things. I appreciated the research and careful wording that went into these books. The learning doesn’t stop with the story, it continues on into conversations, questions and actions. Both books also had fun illustrations and was written with catchy repetitive (which is good for brain development) and cute rhyming phrases. I can highly recommend them.

Real MVP Kids and Sophia Day are continuing to develop more books for this series and new books geared toward older children. I am very interested to see how those will look. These books and others are available on their website: HERE or on Amazon individually or in a 4 pack. I was thinking that I would love to see them write a book about a new baby (biological or adopted) or child (through foster, marriage or adoption) joining the families. Are there any other topics that you would like to see an MVP Kids book about?

I received these books for free directly from the company in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This sounds like an awesome book series! It’s such an important topic.

    Like

  2. Wow! These sound great! I love how they give you real examples of what you can say instead. My kids often speak without a filter, so these would be really helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

