DIY Essential Oil Car Refresher

I’m a minivan mom…and I LOVE it! When I was pregnant with my third and we started talking about getting a bigger vehicle, I had friends say, “Ugh. I never want a van. I’d much rather have an SUV.” Well, I get it. Kinda. SUV’s are much cooler looking vehicles, but I don’t get it because minivans are so much more practical! I love the automatic sliding doors on each side. I love that it is lower to the ground so the kiddos don’t have as much trouble climbing up. I love the amount of space, the window shades, etc. Anyway, I really appreciate our van….we have a Honda Odyssey, by the way. Mini van = Mega fun! *This is solely my humble opinion, so please don’t be offended. I love SUV drivers too. šŸ˜‰

That is allĀ beside the point. What I’m trying to get to is that we have a lot of people in one vehicle and a couple of them still poop their pants, so ourĀ vehicle doesn’t always smell the best. In fact, quite often, it stinks.

There, I said it. We stink. My nose is kinda used to it, but every time Jason gets in the van, he mentions that it smells like poop. LOVELY! I was tired of buying air fresheners so IĀ needed to come up with a cheaper option.

Introducing the easiest and cheapest DIY ever! Check it out.

cardiy

What You Need:

Felt

Wooden Clothes Pin

Favorite Essential Oil

Hot Glue Gun

Fabric Scissors (and/or Pinking Shears)

BeFunky Collage

First, you want toĀ make your felt flowers. There are a lot of different ways you can do this, but I’m going to show you the most basic. Cut out a circle from your piece of felt that is a little bigger than your palm. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Then start on the outside of the circle and cut it into a spiral.

Next, start on the outside edge and roll the spiral into a flower shape. You may have to do this a couple times until you get the flower look you like. Then glue the flower together on the bottomĀ so it holds and either cover the messy glued bottom with the very center of the spiral or cut an extra little piece of felt to cover it. Two of these flowers are the perfect amount for the end of a clothes pin.

I also cut out a simple leaf shape to go on mine, but that is optional. Figure out how you want to arrange them on the end of the clothes pin and then hot glue them all down. Add a drop or two of your favorite essential oil or oil blend into the center of the flowers.

roseeo

And then lastly, of course, clip it on to your center car (or minivan) vent! Reapply essential oil as needed (probably about once a week).

Now when we open the door to the van, we get a nice lavender scent. More lavender and less poop smell….I call that a win! So if you have a vehicle that needs a little refreshing, make these and then stop and smell the roses.

cardiyeo1

3 Comments Add yours

  1. oh that’s an awesome idea! how long does the smell last, or how often are you reapplying the oil? I assume that you make a new flower for each new oil you want to apply?

    Like

    1. breetalks says:

      Great questions! The scent lasts for about a week, but that is with just 2 drops of oil. You can make it as strong or weak as you like, if you think it needs a new drop, it probably does. I have just used lavender on mine, but I would think that you could add a different oil as long as the first oil had worn off. But maybe it would be a good idea to have a couple to switch out depending on which oil you used. Good idea!

      Like

  2. Kimberly says:

    This is an awesome idea!!! So creative, thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

