How to Clean a Jetted Tub

When we were buying our new home, I was ecstatic that it had a big jetted Jacuzzi style bathtub in the master suite. I love taking baths to relax and warm up, especially in the winter. It wasn’t until we did the house inspections, that I saw all of the nasty gunk that came out of the jets when the inspector turned them on. EWWWWWWWW!!! I might have gagged a little bit.tubgunkHe gave me a few ideas on how to clean them out and I did a little research too. Our jets no longer spit out any gunk when you turn them on so I thought I’d share the process just in case anyone else needed this information.

YOU WILL NEED:

-White Vinegar

Arm & Hammer Baking Soda

-Natural Automatic Dishwashing Detergent

-Scotch-Brite Non-Scratch Scrubbing Cloth or Sponge

-Old Toothbrush &/or Q-tips

tubPut the tub stopper in. Then use the baking soda, vinegar and your washcloth or sponge to clean your tub as you would normally to get all the soap scum and grim off. Use an old toothbrush and/or q-tips to get inside the actual jets, where there’s usually some build up. Most jets move, so twist them around while you scrub to get it all clean. If the jets are really bad, consider researching (or googling/you tubing) how to remove the jets to give them a deeper clean. I did not feel like I needed to remove the jets and just gave them a good scrub all around until they sparkled. tubjetFill your tub with water, making sure it goes above the jets by an inch or two. I used cold water to save energy, but warm water could help loosen the grime quicker. I also used a big bucket to displace some of the space in the tub, which allowed me to save some water and reuse it with the next cleaning cycle.tubtubAdd a few cups of vinegar (or 1/2 cup of bleach) to the water and 2-3 TBS. of natural dishwashing machine detergent. I used Grab Greens dishwashing detergent pods which also gave a really pleasant smell while cleaning. I cut them open and sprinkled them in the tub with the water.

Then turn on your jets and let them run for about 15 min. If you saw a lot of yucky build up come out, like I did, you will probably have to do this process several times or until your water is clear after you run the jets. I added vinegar to each cycle, but I only used the dish detergent on the first cycle.

And with that, our tub tubes and jets are now clean! I don’t use them very often, but my kids beg to take bubble baths. It’s amazing how just a little dab of soap can turn into a bubble fortress when the jets are on. Anyone else have experience cleaning bathtub jets? What tips do you have?screenshot-2017-02-26-at-10-21-49-pm

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelah says:

    Oh, I am so bad at cleaning. These tips really help. I wouldn’t have thought to use baking soda and vinegar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooo great advice here!!! I swear vinegar can clean anything!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the tips! I have a tub just like this and never really knew how to clean it properly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

