The Name: Annika Lee Courtney

Baby #4.

We hadn’t planned on there being a baby #4, but God had different plans for our family. After a little bit of crying and shock, we embraced and rejoiced at the idea of becoming a family of 6, although it is still overwhelming at times. Of course.

We expected another boy, since both families are very boy heavy (I, myself, growing up with 4 brothers and no sisters), but we were excited to get the news that Josephine would have a little sister and we would have another daughter. What a surprise!

It’s a girl!

Of course, we immediately started throwing out names. We both had a few we liked, but none that we had fallen in love with.

Before this name, we had Tallulah and Scarlett on our list….thinking that if we decided on Scarlett (which means red), that it would ironically mean that this would be our only child who didn’t have red hair, but not really thinking it could actually happen….and now we’re debating whether her dark hair will turn red eventually. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!

The pressure of naming a child is big! I mean, they’ll have that name for the rest of their life. And of course, there will always be people who don’t like the name you pick and voice their opinion. Ugh, the pressure!

I was about 7 1/2 months pregnant when we decided on our daughters name…..which is pretty good considering Stryker got his hospital inspired name a couple hours before he was born.

I got my oldest daughter a Barbie book for her birthday. Of course, I didn’t read it beforehand. I really don’t like Barbie books, to be honest. But a few days after her birthday, Jason read it to her. (He’s such a good dad.) The next morning, as I was helping her get ready for school, she said, “Daddy wants to name our baby Antarctica.” “Oh really? Are you sure it’s Antarctica?” I asked. “Yes,” she assured me, “It’s from my new book.” I know Barbie books sometimes have really crazy names, but Antarctica seemed a little extra unusual. I decided to text Jason to find out what he really wanted to name our daughter.

Annika (Pronounced AN-i-ka) Not Antarctica.

I immediately looked up the meaning.

Annika means GRACE.

I always need more of that, especially having 4 kids. It was perfect.

We also liked that my mom, my mother-in-law and I all have the middle name Ann or a form of it to tie in with the name Ann(ika). And well, Jason’s middle name is Lee. I thought they sounded perfect together. He agreed and then we just had to keep saying it, to make sure that it fit.

And it did.

annikaleesign

Welcome to the family Annika Lee Courtney. I’m not super proud that your name was inspired from a Barbie book, but I AM super proud to be your mom.

What a blessing you are!

May you be full of grace and share your grace with everyone around you.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    Love the story. Love the name. Love the baby.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie Dotson says:

    She is adorable and I love her name….All your kids have beautiful and unique names. I think it’s wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emmettsabcs says:

    What a sweet name – you chose well mama. Way to embrace this new blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shelahmoss says:

    Congratulations on your perfect little girl. Choosing a name is so important. I love the one you chose!

    Like

Leave a Reply

