5 Minutes with Jesus-A Fresh Infusion of Joy by Sheila Walsh with Sherri Gragg

 

joybook

I have always loved the word “Joy” and the idea of living a joy filled life, but it is really hard to infuse joy into your life when there are so many things around us that are competing daily to steal that joy away. This book stood out to me because I am always looking for fresh ways to infuse Jesus and Joy into my daily life, but on a mommy (5 minute) schedule.

5 Minutes with Jesus – A Fresh Infusion of Joy was written by Sheila Walsh with Sherri Gragg. It has a fun navy blue patterned cover and is a nice little hardback book, perfect for the nightstand. It was published by Thomas Nelson. The book starts with an introduction and then goes straight into short devotions, followed by multiple corresponding scripture references, encouraging you to spend at least 5 minutes in the Word.

I have read a lot of devotionals……and I mean a lot- for all ages and for different stages of life. I immediately liked this one. I like the format, I like that it gives you a real life story/example then goes into a scriptural example and then gives you several scripture references to lead you into spiritual thought. It’s still a fairly simple devotional, so if you’re looking for a lot of meat and depth, this is not for you. But if you’re just looking for a quick devotion (because like me, sometimes that’s all you have time for) to give you some spiritual thoughts to dwell on, I would definitely recommend this book. It is a very easy read and very easy to understand. You can go as quick or as slow through the book as you have time for and still really get some nice nuggets of Truth and Joy.

The book does not necessarily say that it’s geared toward women, but I would say that it is, due to the simple fact that women are writing it and sometimes using stories that relate to themselves or their own experiences. I have never read a devotional from a person’s point of view that I could 100% relate to, so I try not to expect that and just take the pieces that I feel God has meant for me. I would definitely recommend it for the busy woman who needs to slow down, take a deep breath and remember all of the joy that we have in our lives due to God’s goodness and love.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers, a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

