Peaches & Cream Cheese Pastries

My wonderful in-laws just got back from vacation and brought me some beautiful Georgia peaches. I found some puff pastry on sale at one of my favorite shopping spots and picked up 2 boxes, with another recipe in mind. I was going to a potluck baby shower later that day and was trying to figure out what I was going to bring. I thought about cream cheese danishes or cheesy potato puffs and then I remembered the beautiful peaches. I found a couple of recipes and did a combination of them for my  end product. They turned out really yummy! I would definitely recommend serving them warm if possible, but they can be served at room temperature or reheated if needed.

Here is the main inspiration for the pastry I’m sharing today from Cooking with a Wallflower:  There are really great step-by-step picture instructions which are helpful. Because I was making mine as a dessert, I decided to go with a little sweeter filling and multiply the recipe for a small crowd. Aren’t they cute?

peachpastry2

What You Need -(This recipe makes 16 pastries, great for a small crowd):

2 boxes of Puff Pastry (thawed)

2 -8 oz. packages of cream cheese (softened)

2/3 cup granulated sugar for filling & a little extra for sprinkling on top before baking

1 tsp. vanilla

3 large ripe peaches (cut into thin-med slices)

1 egg (beaten)

Preheat oven to 400 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, beat together the softened cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until smooth. Set aside. Slice your peaches, if you haven’t already done so. Then prepare your puff pastry. Each box comes with 2 sheets. Cut each sheet into 4 equal squares. Take a generous spoonful or two of cream cheese mixture and spread from corner to corner of each square of puff pastry. Take sliced peaches and line up on top of cream cheese mixture. Fold the opposite corners together over filling and peaches. Brush the beaten egg wash over the top of the pastry and sprinkle with sugar….giving the exposed peaches a little extra sprinkle. Bake for 12 minutes or until pastries have a nice flaky medium golden color (rotating pan halfway through baking). You don’t want to under bake and have a chewy under done pastry. Remove from pan and let cool a bit before serving.

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. These sound delicious and look easy to make! I always buy peaches for the kids so we always have some on hand. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. THIS LOOK AMAZING. It’s 9:30 at night and I am now craving a peach pastry!

    Like

  3. Omg can we say yum?!?! This looks absolutely delicious. I just love peaches

    Like

  4. Shann Eva says:

    Yum! These with fresh peaches sound amazing. I love how easy they look to make and they are super cute.

    Like

  5. Oh goodness, these look absolutely delectable! I must make these!

    Like

  6. Mmmmm, this is like a literal version of peaches and cream, I LOVE it!!! I’ve never been able to find a gluten-free premade puff pastry, but I wonder if it’d be possible to whip one up, because I NEED these in my life! Thanks for sharing ❤

    Like

    1. breetalks says:

      Yes!! Cube 4 oz of cold butter and place in a large bowl with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pie Crust Mix.
      Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut in butter until the mixture is the consistency of coarse cornmeal.
      Add ice water as needed until the mixture forms a consistent and well-hydrated dough.

      Like

Leave a Reply

