365 Devotions for Peace by Cheri Cowell

Peace.

Ahhhh, peace.

Like the glorious moment that all 3 of my kids take a nap at the same time. Moments of peace don’t happen very often anymore, but it’s a word that I’ve adopted for 2016. It is something that takes a lot of conscience effort for me and is really really hard amongst the chaos of noise. I am so easily distracted with projects, chores and social media. I was excited to have the opportunity to review the book 365 Devotions for Peace by Cheri Cowell to help direct me in taking a moment of daily peace.

IMG_5422

The devotional starts on January 1st and goes through the end of the year (365 days). Each page contains a scripture verse on the top, a short devotional in the middle and a short prayer on the bottom. The book is hardbound and has a really cute cover. I love the way it looks on my nightstand. It is small and inviting to pick up. Because the devotions are short, I know that even if I only have a couple free minutes in my day, I will have time to read through the page. The devotions are really straightforward and simple. They usually include a personal story or application to go along with the scripture. I enjoy them, some more than others just because they resonate more with my heart and stage of life.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book if you are looking for a simple quick daily devotional. If you are wanting something more challenging and in-depth, I would recommend something else. It has worked for me and I have enjoyed reading these short devotionals and then looking up more commentary on the scripture during the days that I have time, just to get a little more meat and scriptural/historical content.

Do you have a favorite daily devotional to recommend? Are you in a good routine in fitting in your “peaceful time” every day? If so, I’m curious to know what works best for you.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a Reply

