The Scariest Night of My Life

This happened 2 years ago. I didn’t write about this event right after it happened.  I think I needed some time to process the emotions, but every year around this time, I am reminded of the scariest night of my life.

I was 6 months pregnant with Stryker and it was late. Jason and I were in bed watching a movie, but I’d fallen asleep. We heard a little moan come from Kannon’s room, but I thought nothing of it and just rolled over. If anything was wrong, he would cry. All 3 bedrooms of the house were right next to each other so we didn’t have any monitors set up. After another little sound from Kannon’s room, Jason decided to peek in on him.

I was in and out of sleep, when I heard Jason yell, “Bree, somethings wrong! Call 911!”

I jumped out of bed in a panic, I didn’t know what was going on. I was fumbling, I couldn’t find my phone. Of course it wasn’t next to my bed like it usually was. I was scared. My heart was beating so fast. I finally found my phone and dialed 911, but had no idea what to say. I hadn’t even seen Kannon. What was wrong? I yelled at Jason to take the phone and tell them what was going on. I took Kannon.

Then I felt it. Something was wrong. His body was limp and lifeless and he was not responding to me. I could not get him to wake up.

I hear Jason on the phone. He had walked in to Kannon being face down on his crib mattress in a puddle of saliva and then felt the same limp body as he picked him up.

He was breathing, but it seemed shallow.

I look back and wonder how I wasn’t bawling, but I was in so much shock and panic that I couldn’t. I didn’t have time to cry. I just held him in my arms, saying his name, trying to get him to open his eyes or grab on to me or show me any outward sign that he was alive.

We turned on our outside lights and stepped outside to wait and flag down the ambulance. And even though it seemed like forever because of our dire situation, they arrived really quickly.

medium_10810393325A group of firefighters and paramedics got out and quickly assessed the situation. I expected them to grab him and rush him off to the hospital, but by this time, Kannon, even though he had still not opened his eyes, his body was a little less lethargic.

The firefighters were really calm, reassuring and helpful, but also understanding of our panic and concern. They checked his breathing and said that it was good. They suggested that he probably had a febrile seizure, which sounded terrifying to me, but they assured me that it is fairly common and a lethargic state usually follows.

It happens when a body temperature spikes really quickly. They most commonly occur in children between the ages of 6 months and 5 years and they can happen without any warnings or other serious underlying health issues.

We didn’t see a seizure, nor did he ever register a temperature that we’re aware of, but that was it. They told us things to watch for and that if his temperature got really high, we should take him in.

We stayed up with him until he showed us a little more of his normal active character. We tried to push fluids (which he did drink a lot of) and then we put him to sleep in our room for the rest of the night so that we could monitor him better. I’m sure we didn’t sleep at all. kannoninbucket

The next day he was back to his normal self celebrating the 4th of July at my parents house. We had spent some of the previous day outside in the hot sun and I wonder now if maybe he had heat exhaustion and dehydration which caused him to react the way he did or maybe it was a febrile seizure. We’ll probably never know for sure.

I just know that I’ll be hugging our sweet Kannon a little tighter tonight before I put him down to sleep.

I have since talked to several friends, whose children have experienced febrile seizures and it really is more common than I knew, but no less scary. Have any of your little ones had a febrile seizure or heat exhaustion? What symptoms did they show?

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. This is so hard! I can’t even imagine how scary this must have been! So thankful that wonderful little boy was okay!

    Like

  2. Shann Eva says:

    That sounds absolutely terrifying. I’m so glad everything turned out OK. My kids have never had one of those seizures, but I have heard the same thing about them being common, especially with high fevers.

    Like

  3. How scary!!! Like you, I always wait for that second little sound because I know that even I make noises in my sleep but now I am going to hop out of bed everytime I hear a peep, for sure! So glad he is OK now!

    Like

  4. shaunjoel says:

    Hey Bree, Zane had several febrile seizures before the age of three. Each was terrifying to behold. I held him in my arms as he convulsed and his lips turned blue. I will never forget that image burned into my memory. Thankfully he grew out of it and has been perfectly fine.

    Like

  5. How terrifying! I had no idea. Considering my children are both between 6 mo and 5 yrs, I’m really glad to know this now though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

