The Time I Thought My Daughter Was Possessed

josmirror
My friend reminded me of a story that I’d kind of forgotten about. We had a good laugh so I thought I should share. My daughter, Josephine was 3 (almost 4) at the time.

Since my daughter could talk, I’ve always thought she was very in tune with spirituality. Our family is Christian. We love Jesus, talk about God often and go to church weekly. But Josephine seemed to know and sense things that were beyond what I’d ever explained to her about God. She had words and prayers that were far beyond her age. I feel like kids have what we adults so often loose, an innocence and a faith that that they aren’t afraid of. So I always listen to kids carefully, but especially her.

And during my listening one day, this happened.

We were driving in the van and out of the middle of nowhere Josephine says, “Mom, do you like the name Lucifer?”

UHHHHH WHAAAAAAAAAAT?! I was stunned and speechless. “NO! NO, I DEFINITELY DON’T LIKE THAT NAME. Where did you hear that name?”

“I like that name.”

Not starting to panic, but a little concerned, “WHERE DID YOU HEAR IT?!”

Pause- “Inside my body.”

“WHAT?! NO YOU DIDN’T! Did you hear it at church? You had to have heard it at church.” Although, I’m pretty sure that they would say devil or Satan before ever using the name Lucifer and I don’t think they would even talk about him until the kids were quite a bit older. I mean, we’re not a fire and brimstone church. So “Who said that name?”

“No one. I just heard it inside my body.” Maybe I started to panic a little bit. She was so calm and weird about it. AHHHHHHH!!!! Lucifer, I rebuke you! Get out of my daughters body. She does not belong to you….. and all the crazy silent prayers that a mother prays when she thinks her daughter might be possessed. Please don’t let her head start spinning around. Get out of her body!

I left the situation with a little explanation of who Lucifer was (in 3 year old terms) and why we don’t want to listen to him, but still was rather weirded out. Later that week, I shared the story with some small group friends. They all thought it was super creepy.

It wasn’t until a couple weeks later, as I was retelling the story, that someone mentioned Cinderella’s cat…….Lucifer. DUH! I felt really silly for not thinking of that. Of course! She’d seen Cinderella before! And that what she meant by hearing it inside her body was just a 3 year old’s way of saying, “I remembered it.” Whew! Mystery solved. My daughter was not possessed, except with a love of Disney princess movies, which I cannot figure out how to exorcize her from. Have your kids ever said anything that totally creeped you out?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Kaile says:

    😂😂😂 that is hilarious.
    one day Ari was kind of feverish and we were driving – he looked out the window and said, “It’s coming tonight!”
    Me:what is coming tonight?
    Him: a tower! All black! It’s coming tonight, tonight!
    😳
    We’re all fine. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Oh my goodness! Hahaha Black Tower! Was he watching Lord of the Rings again? 😉

      Like

  2. rox says:

    Good one

    Like

  3. Ashley says:

    Lol! I love that Josephine 🙂

    Like

  4. This is so hilarious!! I would have been a bit spooked too! So, so funny!!

    Like

  5. Theresa says:

    That is really hilarious! I imagine that would be disturbing without the context (and very funny once you know!)

    Like

  6. Carrie says:

    Wow! It pays to listen to your kids. You can learn a lot

    Like

  7. Tamara says:

    I totally would have freaked too.

    Like

  8. This totally made me giggle. Kids DO say the creepiest things! Just the other day, my son said “Daddy, our car is flesh colored.” OKAY…….sure, sure it is (really, it’s a light tan.) Or there was that one time my son was making biscuits with his grandmother and ran into the living room and claimed they were made of people parts. It’s half possible MY kid is possessed, lol.

    Like

  9. Aimee says:

    So Funny. And it would have truly weirded me out as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

