Joesephine's First Haircut – Before and After 10 inches!

Joshair

My beautiful darling daughter, Josephine, had never had an official haircut. I mean, when she was a year old, we trimmed a few wild stray hairs and maybe did a little trim as a toddler, but that is it. We liked her long hair, but we didn’t like the terrible fights trying to brush out the knots. It caused a lot of stress for her and us. We would start off every morning with tears. I still remember how terrible it was to have my own hair brushed when I was little. But we told her that if she fought us to brush it, then we would have to cut it.

Well, today was that day. We had already made plans to get Kannon’s and daddy’s hair cut, so we just added her to the list. She, of course, said it wasn’t going to happen and we felt really bad, but seriously, it needed to be done for everyone’s sanity. What also bothered me was that she attributed her beauty to the length of her hair.  I had to keep reiterating that she would be beautiful no matter how much or how little hair she had and that beauty was reflected by her heart, not her hair.

Since it was both of our kids’ first salon haircut, we found a place that specialized in kid’s cuts called Shear Madness. Jos was a little concerned that it had the word “Madness” in the name so we improvised and called it “Shear Magic.” Haha Kids are strange. Anyway, this place was perfect for our chaos. It was filled with kids, music, movies, toys, accessories, fun workers and high energy. The kids were so excited and in awe that they couldn’t wait to get their hair cut. Yes, even Josephine. The stylists did an excellent job at making them feel comfortable and letting them move and wiggle as they needed. I highly recommend it! Plus they get to sit in cool vehicles and each station has a movie playing.

kannonhair

My original thought was that Josephine would just get a decent trim in the back and some layering. But as we were talking to the stylist and looking at the length of her hair, we realized that she could donate 10 inches of her hair to Locks of Love and it would still be shoulder length. Of course I didn’t make this decision without running it by her. To my proud surprise, she agreed. I love that as well as I think I know my daughter, she can still surprise me with her thoughtfulness. If you have never heard of Locks of Love, I encourage you to check them out. They are a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada, under the age of 21, suffering from long-term medical hair loss. I had the privilege of donating my own hair in college. If you would like more information about how you can donate, click on one of the links above or talk to your local hair stylist.

locksoflove

She did it! I’m so proud of her. When we got home, she made lots of funny comments like……”Is my hair still red?”, “I want to get my hair cut all the time!” and when we put it in a pony tail she said, “It just keeps getting better and better!” So if your child is reluctant about getting their hair cut, there is hope! I can’t tell if it makes her look younger or older. What do you think? I love how easy it is to wash and brush now and surely we’ll save hundreds of dollars on shampoo right?…..or maybe just millions in tears. Either way, we’re all happy now!

haircut

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelah says:

    Her new haircut is absolutely adorable and how wonderful that she donated to Locks of Love!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I thinks so too! 😉

      Like

  2. Rachel says:

    She is gorgeous! Love the new haircut! Also love that you reiterated the length of hair doesn’t make a person a pretty, it really the person on the inside. Such a beautiful way to commemorate her first haircut by donating to “Locks of Love.”

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Susan says:

    It makes Josephine look much older and of course very adorable.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thank you! I’ve heard both.

      Like

  4. Wow!! Ten inches! I’m seriously impressed. And her new haircut looks SO cute! LOVE.

    Like

  5. Kimberly Cox says:

    OH MY GOODNESS, she is adorable, and that haircut is super cute. My girls are 3 and 2 and neither have even had a trim so far, so I’m hoping we have at least one who is as thoughtful as your young lady was, Locks of Love is an amazing organization.

    Like

  6. My daughter is 2,5 years old – but we still didn’t cut her hair. I don’t plan to do it soon, unless there is a beautiful occasion like this one!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

