Hearty Sausage & Potato Zuppa Tuscana

My small group does a potluck every month and sometimes we try to have themes. This month, the theme was soup. So I decided to make one of my all time favorite copy-cat recipes. We don’t go to Olive Garden very often, but when we do, I always get their Zuppa Toscana soup. It is rich creamy, spicy, hearty and oh so delicious. I love dipping my bread sticks in it and smashing a potato with the end. With endless soup and bread sticks, I can get through 3 bowls of this stuff. I may be miserable afterwards, but that has never stopped me before. Haha It really is my favorite soup and it’s not too hard to make either. It’s a little too spicy for my little ones so I usually only make it for myself or if we’re sharing with friends, but it’s always a favorite.

It can get a little salty, so use reduced sodium products when available and don’t add salt until you’ve tasted it. Also, I love bacon, but I found the bacon to be a little unnecessary in this recipe. I thought the sausage overpowered it so it’s optional. Also add or omit spice as needed.

Have you had Zuppa Toscana before? What is your favorite soup?

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lb ground Italian sausage (mild or spicy)
  • 1 TBS. Nudo olive oil
  • 1 1/2 onion, diced
  • 4 medium russet baking potatoes, diced into cubes (peeling optional)
  • 1 cup crumbled bacon (optional)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3-4 cups fresh washed kale, chopped
  • 42 oz. of low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2-1 tsp. ground cayenne pepper (or to taste)
  • Salt and pepper to taste (be careful not to over-salt)

Instructions

  1. If using bacon, start baking it.
  2. Set timer. When finished let drain, crumble and set aside.
  3. Brown your sausage in a large soup pot on medium heat with the olive oil and cayenne pepper. Make sure to break it up well and stir often.
  4. When sausage is about halfway browned, add your diced onions.
  5. Once sausage is cooked through and onions are a little soft, add your minced garlic and saute for a minute or two. Drain and set aside.
  6. In the same pot, add your chicken broth and diced potatoes.
  7. Cook on medium-high heat until potatoes are fork tender, approximately 15-20 min.
  8. Reduce heat to med. Add heavy cream, cooked sausage and crumbled bacon.
  9. Heat through and stir in chopped kale in the last few minutes.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, this looks sooo yummi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

