Candied Pecans

IMG_5172

My house doesn’t look like Christmas yet, but it smells like Christmas. Today I made a batch of candied pecans. You know the smell, when you’re walking through the mall and you turn the corner just to get a huge warm whiff of sugar, cinnamon and toasty nuts. Yum! I love that smell and have a hard time resisting it, but those little bags can get pretty pricey. Here is how you can make your own. They make great salad toppers, stocking stuffer treats or gifts for your neighbors. You can use a variety of nuts. In this recipe, I use pecans. The process is really simple, but takes a little over an hour to complete.

WARNING!!! These are super addicting! For this reason, I recommend making a double or triple batch. I am not responsible for any pounds gained in direct result to this recipe.

Candied Pecans

Ingredients

  • 6 oz of pecans
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 TBS vanilla
  • 1 small egg white

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 250.
  2. Combine sugar, cinnamon and salt in a bowl and mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, add egg white and vanilla. Froth until foamy.
  4. Add pecans to foamy mixture and stir to coat, then add sugar mixture and stir to coat.
  5. Spread out evenly on a baking sheet and bake until golden brown (approximately 1 hour), stirring every 15 min. Set your timer!
  6. Let cool and store in an airtight container.
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy C says:

    Those look really yummy! I def am going to try this!!

    http://www.HometownQueenBee.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I hope you love them!

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness, they look so yummy! Perfect for Thanksgiving!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes! But they don’t last long so don’t make them until the day of. Haha Otherwise, you may have none to share. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. Erin says:

    OMG these look fantastic! Pecans like this are easily a weakness for me, but this recipe looks easy enough for me to make even as gifts for the holidays πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      They make great gifts!

      Like

  4. They look yummy! I want to make them just to make my house smell good now though!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha and then you will eat them. All. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Jules Ruud says:

    Oh, my word. I have all of these ingredients. My mom loves pecans and I don’t have it in my heart to tell her I don’t so when she gets them for me I just hold onto them. Anyway, now I can make these for her as a gift! I’m really excited to try this!!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Oh, I love that idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

