Tazo Chai Thai Iced Tea

IMG_5137

There are some things that you love because of the nostalgia behind it. Thai Iced Tea is one of those things for me. Before Jason and I were dating, he invited me to a little cafe on a “non-date” to “talk” about volunteering with the Young Life ministries he was a part of. But I wasn’t fooled, it was totally a date. He paid and I could tell he was a little giddy and nervous. I don’t remember much else, except the Thai Iced Tea he ordered. He raved about how it tasted like chocolate and I tried it for the first time that day. It was good, but I don’t love it because it was good, I love it because it reminds me of the beginning of falling in love. Have you ever had a non-date? What reminds you of falling in love?

So normally Thai Iced Tea has a signature orange color, but I’m going to be honest with you and let you know that it’s not necessary. That orange color is just from the same yellow food dye that was finally taken out of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese. It is a non-essential and does nothing to the flavor of the tea. To make an authentic cup, you would normally simmer the tea with cloves and other spices, but I have found a way easier way to make it with Tazo Chai! Tazo Chai already has a lot of similar spices (cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, star anise and ginger), but in the convenience of a little bag.  I really loved brewing the Tazo Classic Chai with the Tazo Vanilla Caramel Chai, to get the sweetness of the vanilla in there. You are welcome to do some experimental brewing, mixing and matching. Muwahahahaha! I imagine a science lab filled with beakers of tea (goggles optional).

IMG_5098

Okay, now for the instructions! Just brew up your tea a little stronger than normal, sweeten it, let it cool, pour it over ice (traditionally served in a tall thin glass), pour a little heavy whipping cream on top and sprinkle with cinnamon. It is sweet, spicy and creamy all in one, plus it has a unique layered look as the cream sets on top until stirred! You will want to stir it before drinking so that it balances everything out. I like to serve it with a straw. They are really delicious and I’m not normally a huge Chai fan. But I am now! I keep making them to take pictures and then chugging them. Haha You can also just make a large pitcher of the tea to keep in the fridge and then add the goodies when you’re ready.IMG_5140

I hope you will check this recipe out! Click HERE to get a COUPON! It has all the flavors of fall and Christmas in a cool drink that will impress your friends and family. Enjoy! And as always, thank you for supporting the brands that support me. I received a free sample of Tazo Chai Tea from Smiley 360 in exchange for my honest opinions.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tazo Chai Tea Bags
  • 12 oz. Boiled Water (Some will evaporate in boiling, so add more to start)
  • 2 TBS. Sugar, Simple Syrup or Sweetener of Choice
  • Heavy Cream
  • Ice
  • Ground Cinnamon for sprinkling on top (Optional)

Instructions

  1. Boil water on stove top.
  2. Steep tea bags in boiled water for approximately 10-12 min.
  3. Remove and discard tea bags.
  4. Add sweetener (if desired) and stir until dissolved.
  5. Let tea cool in fridge.
  6. When ready to serve, pour over ice, add a little pour of heavy cream, just enough to set on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon.
Leave a Reply

