Easy Skillet Shrimp Scampi

I can’t go to my in-laws without coming home with excess food. It’s a huge blessing and of course, it’s always the good stuff that we don’t usually splurge on. This time, we went to celebrate my mother-in-laws birthday and threw her a surprise party. Here’s a picture of the guys with the spread as we wait for the birthday girl to show up. Didn’t they do a good job? I only helped a little bit. Honestly. My husband is the good looking redhead on the right.

IMG_1372

And here’s the birthday girl and your’s truly. I am so blessed to have married into such a great family.

IMG_1402

Anyways, we came home with some yummy party leftovers. One of them being shrimp from the shrimp cocktail. One of my favorite seafood dishes is a good garlicky buttery shrimp scampi. I have used wine before and I have broiled it in the oven before, but I like this recipe because it is quick, easy and just as delicious when I don’t have wine on hand for cooking.

So we’re going to start by melting our butter and olive oil together on a medium heat. Add the minced garlic and red pepper flakes and saute for about a minute.

IMG_1483

Increase your heat a smidgen (That’s a fun word! Say it 5 times fast, I dare ya.) and then add your shrimp. Shell on or shell off? It’s really up to you. I left the shell on because the shell helps infuse more flavor and gives a better presentation, but then they’re a little messier to eat. Either way is fine. Saute shrimp for a couple minutes, then turn shrimp over and do the same to the other side.

IMG_1484

Don’t overcook your shrimp. You want a nice pink opaque color. (3-4 min. for large shrimp & 2 1/2-3 1/2 min. for medium shrimp & 2-2 1/2 min. for small shrimp) Remove from heat and toss in lemon juice, sprinkle with parsley or cilantro and top with fresh cracked pepper.

I demolished these things. The garlic got a little caramelized and I didn’t care that they were messy because they’re just so good. What is your favorite way to eat shrimp?

IMG_1490Skillet Shrimp Scampi

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. Thawed Shrimp
  • 2 TBS. Nudo Garlic Infused Olive Oil
  • 3 TBS. Salted Butter
  • 1 1/2 TBS. Minced Garlic
  • 2 TBS. Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes
  • Chopped Fresh Parsley or Cilantro (for garnish)
  • Salt & Pepper

Instructions

  1. Heat butter and olive oil in a pan on medium. Stir in the garlic and red pepper flakes.
  2. Saute garlic until it begins to brown at the edges, then add the shrimp.
  3. Move shrimp so they are in an even layer and saute for two minutes.
  4. Stir the shrimp and turn them over to saute other side. Continue to cook on medium heat for another minute or two. Don’t overcook.
  5. Remove the pan from the heat, add lemon juice and toss to coat.
  6. Sprinkle with with parsley or cilantro and top with fresh cracked black pepper.

This post is sponsored by my favorite olive oils at Nudo. They have a really cool program where you can adopt an olive tree from Italy. Check it out here: Adopt an olive tree from Nudo Adopt. Thanks for reading and thank you for supporting the brands who support me!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum. This looks delish and seeing as we gave up meat on Fridays, I am definitely going to petition my husband to make this dish this week. BTW your pictures are great.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks Tara! I hope you enjoy!

      Like

  2. Heather says:

    Oh my goodness I can not wait to try this recipe. Yummy

    Like

  3. Michele says:

    This recipe looks delicious. I love the photos. I can’t wait to try this!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  4. This is exactly how I like my shrimp! I’ve never tried adding red pepper flakes to it. Sounds good! I’ll add that next time.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      It gives just a little kick of spice. 🙂 Enjoy!

      Like

  5. This looks yummy! We are a GF household so this is a great recipe to add to my collection! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

