Fresh Basil & Quinoa Salad

IMG_1352

I’ll be honest, I am not usually a big quinoa fan, but after doing a little experimenting, I have made this salad almost every week for the last month. There are times when I crave it. It is really fresh and tangy and delicious! It might just make a quinoa fan out of you too! It all started when I went to the gym one morning (Don’t be fooled, I’m not a health nut. I didn’t even work out. I just dropped off my kids and sat in the lobby and read. There, my secret is out.)….anyway, there were some free cucumbers up for grabs so of course I grabbed a couple. Now I needed to figure out how to use them. These cucumbers had a bitter thick skin, so I peeled them, but I really like the crunch that the skin adds, so when I’ve made it since, I have used Persian or English Cucumbers. They have thinner less bitter skins and little to no seeds.  I had a lot of tomatoes that I needed to use and some fresh basil that smiles at me from my front stoop, begging to be picked and used. Yes, I might be bragging, but it’s only because I rarely have been able to keep things alive all summer. Isn’t it pretty? Okay, store bought will be just as good.

IMGP4831

Speaking of basil, I recently discovered Nudo Olive Oils. And for this recipe, I use the Nudo Basil Infused Extra Virgin Olive Oil, which is excellent. My other favorite is the Stone Ground Garlic Infused Olive Oil. Really, all of them are delicious and any of them will do, so take your pick! Plus the little tins look adorable displayed in my kitchen. I can’t get enough of them! So cute!

nudo

Okay, back to the recipe I guess…..I’ve had a lot of cold cucumber and tomato salads in my life, so this was just a little varied concoction that I came up with and wanted to share. It is super quick and easy for busy moms like us. You can serve this warm or cold. We ate it both ways. I served it warm with roast chicken and then ate the leftovers cold, either as is or mixed into a spring mix with a little extra dressing and some feta. Also, my favorite thing about recipes like this, is that they are completely adaptable to your taste and what you like. You can add or omit as you see fit. Hey, that rhymes! When I had this salad as leftovers, I added some leftover corn I cut off the cob or I think some black olives might be really nice too. I think it’s gorgeous!

IMG_1348

This post was generously sponsored by my favorite olive oils at Nudo. They have a really cool program where you can adopt an olive tree from Italy. Every quarter you get olive oil from YOUR tree, you can purchase extra products at a discounted rate and you can even go visit YOUR tree in Italy! How cool is that? Check it out here: Adopt an olive tree from Nudo Adopt. This could be a really cool Christmas gift for a friend or loved one. Thanks for reading and thank you for supporting the brands who support me! Which Nudo olive oil would you like to try first?

Ingredients

  • 1 4.8 – 5.46 oz pkg. or about 1 cup Quinoa (Flavored or Unflavored)
  • 1 TBS. NUDO Basil Infused Olive Oil
  • 3-4 Persian or English Cucumbers
  • 3 Med. Roma Tomatoes (Diced) or about 2 1/2 cups of your choice
  • 1/4 cup chopped mild white onion or green onions
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil (cut into small strips)
  • 3 TBS. balsalmic vinegrette
  • 1 TBS. Lemon Juice
  • Top with Feta before serving (optional)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Cook your quinoa according to the package. (Drain if there’s any excess liquid)
  2. Dice veggies and basil and toss everything together in a bowl, including quinoa.
  3. Mix together well so all flavors are combined with eac hother.
  4. You may eat right away while quinoa is still warm or chill in fridge.
  5. When ready to eat or serve, top with salt & fresh cracked pepper and sprinkle with feta.
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Krystal says:

    That looks awesome and I have most of the ingredients from my garden pickings. I think I’ll be making it for a potluck this weekend!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes! A great dish for those garden veggies! Enjoy!

      Like

  2. This quinoa salad looks delicious! Quinoa has become one of my favorite things to add to my regular salads lately.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      It has really grown on me! It’s great for getting some extra protein.

      Like

  3. Shann Eva says:

    This sounds delicious. I’ve yet to make quinoa, but you’ve convinced me. Plus, i think it’s hilarious that you took your kids to the gym childcare and sat in the lobby and read. Smart lady!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Our secret. 😉

      Like

  4. Melissa says:

    Quinoa is one of my favorites, this looks great!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

