Not Your Grandmas Decorative Plate Wall

platewallbanner

No offense to your grandma with the title. You might actually check to see if she has any cute vintage plates you can use for this project. Haha, but for real…..mixing the vintage with the modern is totally in these days and I’m loving it! I have been wanting to do a decorative plate wall in my kitchen for probably over a year now and for the longest time, I just had 2 sad little plates hanging on random nails (leftover from the previous owners), waiting for their companions. I had gotten a few plates at thrift stores, but not as many as I needed to fill my space and I still had to figure out how I wanted to hang them. Then my friend, who has a DIY Home Decor blog called Loving Here, posted her finished plate wall in her kitchen. Doesn’t it look great? I was re-inspired! It’s much more elaborate than mine, but I had a little smaller space and wanted the plates to compliment my DIY Framed Chalk Board.

melissaplatewall

Of course we happen to have very similar (and awesomely refreshing) kitchen color schemes of teal blues, whites, greens and yellows. I fell in love with the way that all of her plates touched each other, something that I had not really considered before. So I went on the hunt to find my finishing plates and wall hangers. Most of my plates came from thrift stores and ranged in price from .49-1.50. But my (our) little secret is that I found my last 3 plates at Target for 2.49 each and they’re…..PLASTIC. Shhhhhh! Don’t tell! Or do tell, I don’t really care. I was just glad to find a few more plates with the pops of colors that I needed and I love the cute little sayings too.

platewall

I opted on the wire and spring plate holders from Michaels because I was afraid of a couple of the reviews on the sticky yellow plate hanging discs. I didn’t want to take the chance on my plates coming crashing down in the middle of the night or any other time. The discs definitely leave a cleaner look than my wire plate hangers, but I feel like I have more guaranteed security. I also like that I can switch plates out if I find ones that I like better later on. Loving Here does a great job of laying out the “how to” of this project from conception to completion, so without further ado, you can check out their tutorial HERE: DIY Modern Plate Wall in the Kitchen and give their page some love while you’re visiting! Now I’m curious, what are your kitchen colors? Do you like the vintage modern look?

lowerplates

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks awesome! Can’t wait to see out in person. Also, those target plates are so amazing. Did you get them recently? I might need to add them to my collection! 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks! Yes, I got them last weekend, it seemed like there were only a few left, but I don’t know if that’s because they needed to restock or were out.

      Like

  2. Rebecca says:

    This grandma really liked it! Cute layout and I loved the plates with the sayings!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      You’re not a grandma, you’re a Nonni! 😉

      Like

  3. I love the look!! I would have never thought of doing something like that with plates!! I love going to thrift stores-now I have something to keep an eye out for!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yay! If you do a plate wall, you have to post a pic on my facebook page for me to see! 😀

      Like

  4. Debbie Anderson says:

    I love this idea! We will be painting over floral wallpaper (ugh) in the kitchen as final steps in our kitchen remodel. I still have my grandmother’s biscuit plate that I could use in a plate arrangement. Love your framed chalkboard, too!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks! Incorporating your family heirloom dishes would make an extra special display!

      Like

  5. Shann Eva says:

    I LOVE this. I never thought I would like decorative plates on a wall, but this has completely changed my mind. it looks modern and pretty…like a work of art. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  6. Tessa says:

    I have to say I’m not generally a fan of plate or dish decorating in general, but I actually really like what you’ve done with them. Especially that some have been written on… That’s awesome!

    Like

  7. Leslie says:

    Oh I love these! I can’t wait to redecorate my kitchen, I think I need to add a space for plates! So cute.

    Like

  8. Nikki says:

    super cute – wish i had a wall to add some plates, maybe i do!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Of course you have a wall that needs some plates! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

