I Thought We Were Goners

Last night, my husband and I were abruptly woken up by a very loud gun shot. It’s 2:15. Jason jumped up out of bed and is standing by the dresser. His defense is always fight, mine is always freeze. Something terrible was happening. By the time he jumps up, 4 more shots are fired and in our drowsy slumber, we realize that they are super close, like in our room. My heart is pounding so fast, my brain is groggy and cannot process any of the information to be useful. I expect Jason to fall over any second from being hit. By the sixth one, we look up and realize that the shots are actually just a foil star helium balloon hitting our fan blades repeatedly. Yes, you know the sound. When a foil balloon has lost approximately half of it’s floatation powers and you slap it in-between both of your hands and it is super loud. That was the gunshots. Jason grabbed it and killed it quickly (poor VBS balloon-it lived a nice life, not always full, but mostly loved). Jason collapses on the bed, feeling like he’s going to throw up from the adrenaline rush. I am still in bed, sitting straight up, wired from the action. Whew! Hahahaha I’m really surprised that none of the kids woke up. Thankful, but surprised.

balloon

One of the weirdest parts of all, however, was that before Jason went to bed, he checked on the kids and specifically noticed the balloon in their room and on their floor. When he left the room, he almost closed the door completely. I guess it was left open wide enough for the balloon to get through. It moved across the room (dodging toys and furniture), turned around a corner, moved through a small door opening, turned right, turned right again and moved through another door opening, then rose from the ground to the fan and somehow clung on to it, allowing the fan blade to hit it repeatedly until it was stopped. That’s one creepy balloon, but I’ll take it over gun shots any day. Have you ever woken up in the middle of the night to something you thought was an intruder?

19 Comments Add yours

  1. This is sooo scary!! I have no idea how I would react but it would probaby be similar to you!! Freeze 😳.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha I know! It was so loud and foreign and close! Ugh!

      Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Bree, years ago I stayed at mom and dads when they were away. Mike was in Japan and Shelby and I were alone in the house. We were in the butterfly room when in the middle of the night I heard a noise downstairs. It was a loud noise that woke me from my sleep. My initial reaction was to freeze. I laid there listening with my heart pounding through my chest. I knew someone was in the house and it sounded like they were rifling through stuff downstairs. So slowly I crept out of the bed and went to the banister where I peered over and still heard noise. I used a loud voice and said who’s there? There was no answer. And then I saw him running from the back hall towards the front door. it was my dog Boomer who I had chained up in the basement. He had one of Mom’s high heel shoes in his mouth. He had chewed through his leash and escaped for a night time romp. Oh what a relief that it was just a stupid dog, and not a hound from hell!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha! That house is so big, I would be scared just staying there by myself! Thankfully, there would be a lot of places to hide. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  3. Shann Eva says:

    Oh my goodness! That would have freaked me out! Were you able to get back to sleep? I don’t think I would have been able to. I’m glad it was just a balloon and not really gunshots. Can’t believe the kids didn’t wake up!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes, eventually fell back to sleep. We killed the balloon and so I had closure with the situation and could put it out of my mind. Hahaha

      Like

  4. Kimberly says:

    That IS a creepy balloon! Maybe it was divine intervention and there was some reason you NEEDED to wake up right then!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I thought about that. If so, I don’t know what it was. 😀

      Like

  5. How scary!! I’m not sure how I would have reacted. I think if my husband was there, I would have froze, but if it was just me and the kids, I would have hopped up. So creepy about how far the balloon traveled-yikes!

    Like

  6. Renee says:

    Oh My Word! It’s crazy how everything seems more real(and scary) when you’re woken up from a deep sleep. I think I would’ve had a similar reaction!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      So true. If it would have happened in the daytime, it would have been totally different. But since we were woken up and it was dark so we couldn’t see, it was scary!

      Like

  7. Natasha says:

    Whoa, that would have freaked me out! What a creapy balloon for sure! 🙂

    Like

  8. Sue Parke says:

    Omgoodness I was on the edge of my seat and my heart was pounding at the beginning of this post! To answer your question, YES! A couple months ago our house alarm started going off around 2:30am – we jolted out of bed, OK, my husband jolted out of bed, I hid under the covers! I was certain someone was trying to break in! Turned out the damn alarm needed new batteries – so because the batteries needed to be replaced, it set the system to go off to “remind” us to replace them! I guess our system works similar to a fire detector! Why do these things always happen in the middle of the night?! Lol! SO glad you’re all safe and that it was just a balloon!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      So scary! We had a sensitive alarm at our last house and it always freaked us out. Is it time to check your batteries? 😉

      Like

  9. That’s how I feel every single time my dog barks at NOTHING in the middle of the night.. When my husband and I lived in an apartment complex, I heard someone at our door at 2 am. I grabbed my then boyfriend and he grabbed a baseball bat. My husband opened the door but not the chain lock, and it was some very drunk man telling us that was his apartment and he lost his keys. eventually he left but I didn’t go back to sleep that night. The very creepy part was that each “front door” only led to two apartments, top floor and bottom floor, so each person had 2 keys. We’d never seen that guy before, so we have NO idea how he got to our top floor door since the “front door” locks automatically.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Weird! My grandparents own a Bed and Breakfast and they once found a drunk guy in one of their spare beds in the morning. LOL

      Like

  10. Alana says:

    Oh my heart is still racing for you and I just read the post and know it’s a balloon!!! Sheesh! That stupid thing!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha I can totally laugh at it now of course, but not in the middle of it. Whew. 😉

      Like

  11. Tessa says:

    How crazy (and scary) is that?! When I was in HS and still living with my parents, I once woke up extremely early in the morning to the very clear sound of glass shattering. No one else was awake and still to this day, no one has ever found anything that shattered or broke that could’ve caused the sound. It was extremely odd. I’m fairly confident I wasn’t dreaming, but who knows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

