Creamy Mac 'n Cheese

macncheese

I love cheese, like really love it. So when I tried this recipe at a friends party, I kept going back for seconds and thirds and knew I had to get the recipe. (Thanks Ally!) I usually just made macaroni and cheese out of a box, but that’s only because I’d never fallen in love with a homemade version. Until now. This is the ultimate comfort food. I made a few minor adjustments. I didn’t have any muenster cheese on hand, so I just subbed it out for a Mexican blend and it was still delicious. But you could also use more sharp cheddar too. And I didn’t have half and half so I made my own with whole milk and heavy cream. It has an awesome blend of flavorful cheeses, a nice creamy texture and can easily be made more grown up with yummy add-ins like bacon, peas, lobster, etc. This makes a great main dish or side and is perfect for kids and adults. Yum. Look at this creamy deliciousness. My mouth is watering. I need some more in my belly now.

macncheese1

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs. vegetable oil
  • 1 lb macaroni noodles
  • 8 Tbs. butter (melted)
  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • 1/2 cup muenster cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup mild cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 8 ounces Velveeta cheese, cut into small cubes (I use the store brand & I am extra generous)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground pepper

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and lightly butter a deep 2 1/2 quart baking dish.
  2. Fill a large pot with water and bring to a rapid boil.
  3. Add macaroni and the 1 Tbs oil.
  4. Cook for 7-10 minutes or until tender.
  5. Drain noodles and return to the pot. Set off to side.
  6. In a small saucepan or microwave, melt 8 Tbs of butter.
  7. Stir into cooked macaroni noodles.
  8. In a large bowl, combine all of the shredded cheeses.
  9. Add 1 1/2 cups of the shredded cheeses, half and half, the cubed Velveeta, the eggs and the seasoned salt and pepper to the cooked noodles.
  10. Transfer to the prepared casserole dish, and top with remaining 1/2 cup shredded cheese.
  11. Dot with remaining 1 Tbs of the butter.
  12. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until the edges are a light golden brown and bubbly.
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Jacqui says:

    Get. In. My. Belly.

    This looks so delicious!!!! I think I”ll make it on Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Breetalks says:

      I keep thinking about it. It is a craveable item for sure. So good! Enjoy!

      Like

  2. Theresa says:

    This looks really good. It sound like the perfect mac ‘n’ cheese for kids and adults! I am off to pin this now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Yum! Looks great! My son is a mac n’ cheese fiend, so I am definitely going to have to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’m sure you will love it too!;)

      Like

  4. Wow this looks sooooo good!!! My homemade mac never seems this creamy so I will have to give your recipe a try!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Breetalks says:

      It IS creamy! I think the Velveeta really adds to the creaminess, while the other cheeses add to the flavor.

      Like

  5. Ai says:

    No wonder this is so creamy! Look at all the different cheeses in there! I love trying different homemade mac & cheese recipes. Thanks for sharing this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Breetalks says:

      I have tried a lot too and this is now my favorite!

      Like

Leave a Reply

