Fresh Creamy Pasta with Barilla Pronto Penne

barillapenne

Here is a little dish I threw together last week that I thought I’d share. I meant for it to have grilled chicken and bacon in it, but my chicken hadn’t fully thawed and well, the bacon just didn’t make it on the dish for the photo. But let me assure you that I did add bacon to this later and it was a great added texture, saltiness and crunch to the dish. Okay on to the pasta……Barilla Pronto is a dry pasta noodle that boasts for a quick, one pan pasta dish. You put the noodles in your pan, add water and set your timer for 10 min. The pasta boils quicker and absorbs the water so you don’t have to drain it. Then you just add your sauce on top of the noodles in the same pan and toss. It is meant to be really quick and convenient. It worked beautifully for the penne, but I chose a non-stick pan for the spaghetti noodles and they burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan. So a non-stick pan is recommended and definitely use your timer. This could also be partially blamed on me being a distracted mom to 3, oh well. I could salvage most of it and next time, I will know better. As much as I try, I can not do everything all of the time.

IMGP4558

I think the Barilla Pronto pasta was good. I don’t think I’d go out of my way to purchase it or spend more on it. I guess I don’t feel like draining the noodles is that much of an inconvenience. I would definitely look at the price and consider it next to the others and if it’s comparable then I would purchase it or if I had a coupon. I received some Barilla Pronto noodles for free in exchange for a review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. Barilla Pronto Penne (cooked)
  • 2 Tbs. butter
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 small diced red onion
  • 2 Tbs. flour
  • 3/4 cup of chicken stock
  • 3/4 cup of milk
  • 2 tsp. parsley
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • Fresh ground black pepper (to taste)
  • Fresh cherry tomatoes (cut in half)
  • Fresh spinach
  • Capers (half or 3.5oz. jar or to taste)

Instructions

  1. Melt butter over med. heat.
  2. Add minced garlic and onion. Saute for about a min. or 2.
  3. Whisk in flour to make a rouse.
  4. Add chicken stock & milk, whisking frequently, until sauce boils and begins to thicken.
  5. Add parsley, salt, pepper and Parmesan. If sauce is too thick, add a little more milk and if too thin, add a pinch more flour.
  6. Toss with cooked Barilla Pronto penne. Add tomatoes, spinach and capers and toss again.
  7. Optional: Top with crispy crumbled bacon (not pictured)

 

 

Leave a Reply

