Creamy Chicken & Potato Gnocchi Soup

potatognocchi

I love creamy comforting soups and this one is no exception. I also love that soups are so easily adaptable. If you don’t have one thing, you omit it or sub it for something else. Or if you don’t like something, you can do the same, as long as you keep the base pretty similar. I have a couple soup recipes that are my go-to’s, cheesy potato and chicken tortilla. But sometimes you gotta try something a little different. I found potato gnocchi on sale for .99 and I had just de-boned a rotisserie chicken and made broth with the scraps. See? Yum, I love the smell of making chicken stock.

IMGP4158

I looked at a few copycat recipes for Olive Garden’s Chicken Gnocchi Soup and improvised from there. There is spinach in the recipe and I had hoped to include it, but mine was a little too far gone by the time I made this soup. So if you’re looking at the picture thinking, “Where’s the spinach?” It is not there unfortunately. It would have added a beautiful color though, huh? Next time. Until then, I leave you with this. Adapt as you see fit and enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 4 TBS. butter
  • 1 TBS. olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup diced celery (including the celery leaves is great too)
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 4 cups half and half (or milk)
  • 28 oz. chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp. parsley
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped chicken (rotisserie works great)
  • 16 oz. package of ready to use gnocchi
  • 1 cup chopped spinach or kale (optional)
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • Pepper to taste (fresh ground is best!)

Instructions

  1. Melt butter and oil together in a saucepan over low-medium heat.
  2. Add onion, celery, carrot and garlic. Saute, stirring occasionally until onions become soft.
  3. Whisk in flour and cook for another minute, then add half-and-half and whisk again until thickened.
  4. At this point, I carefully move my mixture into a large soup pot.
  5. Add the chicken broth. Simmer, stirring occasionally until thickened again.
  6. Stir in salt, parsley, nutmeg, greens, chicken, and gnocchi.
  7. Simmer until the soup is hot and serve with fresh cracked black pepper on top.
13 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanneva says:

    Yum. That sounds delicious! I also love that you said Rotisserie Chicken works too….my go to!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Costco is awesome! 🙂

      Like

  2. My husband would love this. I’m not a soup maker but I do have a family gnocchi recipe that screams make this soup. I might venture into the soup making world. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      You’re not a soup maker?! But they’re SOOOOO easy! And great to freeze too. 🙂 Maybe next time I’ll try to make my own gnocchi!

      Like

  3. Sue Parke says:

    WOW! This seriously looks and sounds amazing! I love soup and potato gnocchi. I will definitely be pinning this recipe and giving it a try!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks Sue! I hope you love it!

      Like

  4. T Austin at The Good Enuf Mommy says:

    I had never thought of putting gnocci in soup! Genius idea!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Well, thank you, but I can’t take credit for the idea. Haha 🙂

      Like

  5. Shelah says:

    This soup looks amazing. I am going to make it for my mom.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  6. Alana says:

    This looks incredible!!! Cannot wait to try it myself!

    Like

  7. That looks really good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

