Henry Hodges Needs a Friend by Andy Andrews Review & Giveaway!

IMGP4124

Henry Hodges Needs a Friend was written by New York Times Bestselling Author Andy Andrews, illustrated by Colleen Madden and published by Tommy Nelson (a division of Thomas Nelson Publishing). It is sturdy and colorful hardback book filled with vibrant and funny illustrations. It is written in rhyming phrases that make it easy to read and exciting for kids to follow. There is a great flow to it.

The story starts off sad about little Henry Hodges who doesn’t have any friends and is lonely. His supportive parents tell him that they want to get a one-of-a-kind friend for him. Henry is excited and his imagination runs wild thinking about what kind of friend it will be. Will it be a flying hamster? Or a short necked giraffe?  Perhaps a goldfish with antlers? They take Henry to a pet shelter and let him pick out his friend. He searches and finds the loneliest pup, who is just like him. He is perfect! They become best friends and are lonely no more. The story ends saying that God knows just what we need and that everyone is one-of-a-kind.

IMGP4118

This book would be good for any child, but might especially connect with someone who has trouble fitting in or someone whose best friend is a pet. It would also be a perfect book to get for someone who you are planning on letting pick out a special pet. Whoever it is for, it is a cute, really well-illustrated book.

GIVEAWAY!!

henryhodges

I’m giving away a copy of this book (Henry Hodges Needs a Friend) to one of my lucky readers (a $14.99 value)! All you have to do is leave me a blog post comment about who your best friend is, what your favorite animal is or what pets do you own? A winner will be chosen at random at 10pm CST on 5/06 /15. USA only. I will contact winner via email and they will have 48 hrs. to confirm with contact information before a new winner is chosen. Good luck!

AND THE WINNER IS………JACQUI! CONGRATULATIONS!! Please check your email & respond.

Thanks to everyone who participated!

I received this book for free from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. No pets in our home. We like visiting the animals our friends and family have though! Cute pic of Jos.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Same here, Melissa! Maybe someday we’ll get a fish, but that’s about the only pet I’d feel comfortable with. No hair! 🙂

      Like

  2. Jacqui says:

    I love books with a message!
    My best friend is my husband, my favorite animal is a dog, and that’s what we have!!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Fun! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Dianne Hall says:

    My favorite animals are rabbits. We have one german shepherd in our house though 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Rabbits are my daughters favorite, but she is the one that is allergic to everything! Including dogs. 😦

      Like

  4. Aubree Larson says:

    we’ve been talking about getting the kids a fish.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yeah, I think that’s what we’ll do too, but I’m gonna wait until they really beg me. 🙂 Hahah

      Like

  5. Michelle Faile says:

    My two best pet friends are a 3yr old french bulldog and a 3 month old pug/chihuahua mix!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I bet that’s a blast!

      Like

  6. Denise K. says:

    Unfortunately we do not have one because I am allergic like your daughter- stinks!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’m sorry! Allergies stink!

      Like

  7. Tessa says:

    I think so many children feel left out or have problems fitting in at times–so this was a good book for kids today. And great review! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      True. It really expressed Henry’s loneliness, but desire for a best friend. I’m sure so many kids can relate.

      Like

  8. We are surrounded by animals. Our daughter in a lonely only so I think it convinces me that she’s got buddies after all. Such a cute book!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’m sure they’re great buddies for her!

      Like

  9. We have fish, a turtle and two dogs. We all love animals.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      A turtle! Fun! 🙂

      Like

  10. Kenny H. says:

    We have one cat!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I had a cat growing up in the country. I’m allergic to them so it was an outdoor cat, but they were fun to play with.

      Like

  11. Dawn Mayo says:

    Awe pets can be great! We have 2 chihuahuas 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I didn’t know you had chihuahuas! So fun!

      Like

  12. mom says:

    I think the books sounds great. I heard Andy Andrews speak at a women of faith conference.

    Like

  13. My sons BFF is our dog Jules. They are adorable together!
    We have two dogs and a cat but from the beginning Jules and my 4 year old were buds.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Awww! So sweet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

