Tea Tree Oil Review, Giveaway & How It Healed My Sons Eczema


Essential Oils have become all the rage.  You can hardly go anywhere without hearing some mom talking about them.  Well, now I am THAT mom because of Tea Tree Oil and how it healed my sons eczema.  So let’s first talk about the basics.  I hadn’t ever used it before this, so I had to do some researching and you should too.  Don’t ever just take someone’s word for it.  Search out the information so that you are knowledgable about what you’re using.

teatreeoil

What is Tea Tree Oil?  It is a pure oil harvested from the leaves of a native Australian Melaleuca tree.

What are some uses for Tea Tree Oil?

*Antimicrobial for Self or Home: antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral, antiprotozoal

*House Cleaning: Save money and replace the chemicals in your home with natural products made with Tea Tree Oil as a disinfecting agent, bug repellent or for removing mold and mildew.

*Skin Care & Hair Care: Antiseptic for acne, eczema, psoriasis, dandruff, MRSA, molluscum, skin tags, athletes foot, bug bites, lice and more.

*Aromatherapy: Studies showed that inhaling Tea Tree Oil can help reduce stress levels and may help treat the common cold.  

There are many other uses for Tea Tree Oil too.  I’ve only scratched the surface of its benefits.  It is a handy little thing to have in the house for a variety of reasons.  My Apothecary Extracts Tea Tree Oil came in a really cute bottle and box, something I would be proud to keep out on my shelf in the bathroom for display.  Along with my order, they also sent an Ebook Recipe guide that had a ton of useful recipes for cleaners, face masks, hair care, etc.  A lot of the recipes sent were filled with other products that I don’t have on hand so I did some research for a few of my own.  It has no preservatives, no artificial color, no artificial fragrance, no parabons, no mineral oil, no petroleum and no chemical solvents, just pure concentrated oil.  It does have a really strong smell (almost floral & woody), but most concentrated oils do.  I think its ratings and reviews on Amazon speak for themselves!  Wait there’s more! Hahaha, but really.  It also comes with 110% money back guarantee!  Anyway, I would definitely recommend this product.

This is how I tested it-

Disinfectant: Because of my kids’ allergies, we run a humidifier every night, but I’m always nervous that it’s a breeding ground for mold and bacteria so I used some water and Tea Tree Oil to clean it.  It kills the bacteria, prevents mold and mildew and gives a slight aromatherapy to the room.  Plus it’s natural so I feel better using it than something with a bunch of chemicals.  I also mixed it up with water in a spray bottle and spray down the shower occasionally.

Dandruff: I had been needing help with dandruff control.  My head had been itchy and flaky for several months.  I have tried Head & Shoulders and T Gel to try to control it, but it hasn’t worked.  I added a few drops to my normal dandruff shampoo and then lathered as normal, let it sit on my hair for 3-5 minutes and then rinsed it out.  It did not get rid of the problem (yet), but it has helped and it left no oily residue and my hair came out feeling soft and smooth.  So I’ll have report back if it completely takes care of the problem.

Eczema: I have fair skinned little red heads that get eczema really bad in the winter. I tried everything the doctor told us to, Aquaphor several times a day, less frequent bathing and 1% Hydrocortisone Cream if it was really bad. Well, it was really bad and none of those things were working, so I put approx. 20 drops of Tea Tree Oil in 1/2 cup Aquaphor (I would think you could use any carrier oil/cream), mixed it up and started putting that on his eczema (behind his knees). My husband and I were floored with how quickly we noticed a difference. It has only been 2 days and it’s almost completely cleared up! Now that it’s too late, I wish I would have gotten a before and after picture.  It is drastic!  UPDATE! Eczema did not completely go away, but got significantly better! It went from patches the size of my hand to a spot the size of my thumbprint.  

IMGP3584

*Like with most essential oils, you will want to store them in their dark bottles and in a dark and cool location for them to stay most effective.  Depending on how often you use them, they should last for a good year or more.

Warning! For external use only. Do not ingest. Not recommended for broken or irritated skin or rashes. As with everything, test on a small area first to check for sensitivities and consult with doctor with use on young children or if you are pregnant or breast feeding.

CONTEST TIME!!

Now you have a chance to win your own 4 oz. bottle of Apothecary Extracts Tea Tree Oil! To enter, simply leave a comment on this blog post.  Winner will receive the prize in the form of an Amazon code toward free product.  Contest will end on March 20th, 2015 at 10pm CST.  Winner will have 48 hrs. to claim prize or a new winner will be chosen. Open to US residents only at this time. GOOD LUCK! And the winner is…….KARA!! CONGRATULATIOMS!! And thanks to all who participated!

I received this product for free from the company through Tomoson in exchange for my review & honest opinions.

56 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’m trying this in my shampoo, too! The difference it made on Kannon’s legs is huge!!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Let me know how you like it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Rox says:

    This sounds great, I will try some of the suggestions.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Joy says:

    Cool I might give the hair issues.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      🙂 Thanks for commenting! Good luck on the giveaway!

      Like

  4. Maria says:

    i love it for my face!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I love YOU for your face. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. Jason Courtney says:

    This stuff works pretty good. Thanks for the review.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      You’re welcome. 😀

      Like

  6. Amy Orvin says:

    I love tea tree oil. It makes my head tingle all over.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha! I hope that’s a good thing! 🙂

      Like

  7. Juliana says:

    Wonderful Giveaway!! I’ve been dealing with some serious scalp issues and someone suggested tea tree oil and I would love to try it and see how it works.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Good luck! 🙂

      Like

  8. Kelly C says:

    Would love to try this! Thanks for the ideas!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  9. sherry says:

    My son has terrible eczema during winter too, so I am very intrigued by this.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hope you get to try it out! It helped out my sons significantly. There is still a very faint sign of it, but it is night and day better than it was last week.

      Like

  10. I’m interested. You’ll have to tell me more about it.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Will do! I’m still learning all about it myself! 😀

      Like

  11. Aubree Larson says:

    ive been hearing good things about tto and used to have a shampoo with it-before I became a mom and the shampoo budget lowered a lot! I’d love to win a bottle of this to add to my shampoo. I’m also diving into the world of more natural cleaners and this would be a good addition!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Good luck Aubree!

      Like

  12. Kelly D says:

    Great post, Bree! Lots of good tips 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks! Glad you stopped by!

      Like

  13. Sherry says:

    Love tea tree oil in our homemade detergent. It makes the towels and sheets fresh. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Great idea! I haven’t used it in detergent yet. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  14. Destiny B says:

    This is so good to know! I struggle with acne so I think it would be interesting to try!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting and good luck!

      Like

  15. Blair says:

    Would love to try this out! Thanks for hosting a giveaway!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting! Good luck on the giveaway!

      Like

  16. Britty says:

    I use it for my acne! Looks like I need to broaden my tea tree oil horizons!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I know! I’ve seen sooo many uses for it! It’s a good problem to have! 😉

      Like

  17. Dawn Mayo says:

    I will have to try it! we get dry itchy patches from sebhorreic dermatitis.Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hope it helps! Let me know! I’m still researching and curious to know other peoples uses and successes or failures. Of course I’m sure that everyone reacts a little differently.

      Like

  18. Kara says:

    I love tea tree oil! I’m using it right now on this random rash that showed up on my arm. Works like a charm! I also love using it on blemishes as it clears them up right away!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for sharing! Do you put it on straight or dilute it with a carrier oil or lotion?

      Like

  19. Goodenufmommy says:

    great idea! My son also has horrible eczema! I’ll give it a try!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I hope it helps!

      Like

  20. Lindsay says:

    Ooo, my little one has a couple patches of excema, too. I’ll have to try this.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

  21. Jessica Rodenbaugh says:

    I wonder if it would help Norah’s cradle cap? It would be interesting to try it.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’m not sure and didn’t even think about that cause Stryker has some too. Time to do some research! 🙂

      Like

  22. Justine says:

    I should try this on my daughter’s eczema! She gets it really bad behind her knees, on her elbows, and sometimes on her belly, back & thighs. She tends to scratch it more when she is stressed/nervous.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hope it helps! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  23. Alicia says:

    This totally works! I’ve had a weird pregnancy rash and nothing has helped…until this! Thanks for this great post, Bree!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yay! Awesome news! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  24. I Love anything natural, I am getting low on Tea Tree Oil…. You definitely gave me a few new uses that I didn’t know!

    Like

  25. Jessica B says:

    we are huge tea tree oil fans in this house!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  26. Oh, so many great uses!! I started making my own baby wipes because of my eczema. It completely took care of it too, but it is such a pain!! I could use some help in the dry scalp department as well. Awesome giveaway!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Homemade baby wipes, brilliant! Keep the uses coming! 😉 Good luck in the giveaway!

      Like

  27. Natasha says:

    Love tea tree oil….it’s like magic (and so is aquaphor).

    Like

  28. I’ll have to check it out!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

