Guac, Guac, Guacamole! Guacamole Yeah!

Have you guys seen the Sesame Street episode where Elmo makes guacamole?  It’s so random and odd, but fine.  I like guacamole so I have no problem with it.  It even has a catchy little song, “Guac, Guac, Guacamole, Guacomole yeeeeaah!”  Anyways, it was on a few mornings ago and so my 4 year old daughter came to me and asked if we could make some guacamole.  I was a little caught off guard because she hasn’t really liked guacamole since she was a baby, but I had some ripe .29 avocados (one of the many reasons that I love Aldi’s) so I obliged.  Plus I don’t think I ever turn down guacamole.

Guacamole is one of those things that can be done a million different ways and none of them are wrong, but some of them ARE better than others. We have experimented with a lot of combinations before deciding that this is probably our favorite.  Simple and delicious! Josephine helped me make it and she ate it and liked it (tomato chunks and all)!  This is one of the perks of getting your kids in the kitchen with you, even though most times I want to pull my hair out because she can’t keep her hands out of the batter or her “mixing” is getting ALL over the counter.  BUT I’ve noticed that when they help make something, they are so much more likely to try it and eat it.  There is pride that comes with sharing something that you’ve made with others and kids get that, plus I want at least one of my kids to grow up to become a chef so they can make me delicious food when I get old.  Haha, but really.

And it’s March! St. Patricks Day is coming up! So what better time to share one of my favorite “green” recipes. Enjoy!

IMGP3523

Ingredients

  • 3 Large or 4 Small Avocados
  • 3 TBS. Lime Juice (Fresh or Bottled)
  • 1 tsp. Lawry’s Garlic Salt
  • 2 Roma Tomatos (finely chopped)
  • 1/2 tsp. Minced Garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 TBS. Chopped Cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp. Cumin
  • 1/2 Small Onion – chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 Jalapeño Seeded & Chopped (optional)
  • *Can substitute lemon juice if you don’t have lime

Instructions

  1. Cut your avocados in half and de-seed.
  2. Scoop out avocado meat and place in a medium bowl.
  3. Add all of your other ingredients.
  4. Mix and gently mash with a fork until well combined, but still has some delicious lumps.
  5. Taste and add salt and pepper as desired.

What’s something that you let your kids help you make that surprised you when they ate it?

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    Jason raved about how good this was!! Said you get to be the official guacamole maker in the family from here on!!! Can’t wait to try it!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      That’s nice to hear that he told someone else how much he liked it…I think sometimes he forgets to tell the maker and then I’m wondering if something was a success or failure until months later when he asks for me to make something and I’m like, I didn’t even know you liked that! Haha Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Natasha says:

    I like a good guacamole! I’ll have to try this one! By the way, I just paid $1.39 for one avacado. Yipes, I better get to Aldi’s.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes! Usually their avocados don’t cost too much more than .40, which is awesome! They’re a little smaller, but for that price you can get a bunch!

      Like

  3. mom says:

    A
    Vidalia onions are sold now and make great guacamole and salsas

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Sounds good! Jason & I like onions, but the kids are more likely to eat it without. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

