I Can Learn the Bible by Holly Hawkins Shivers

I Can Learn the Bible was written by Holly Hawkins Shivers, with a forward by Jennie Allen and illustrations by Becka Moor.  I Can Learn the Bible is a devotional and prayer book containing 52 scriptures that every kid should know.  It is a nice sturdy hard back book with adorable pictures to go along side the stories (each approximately 3 pages long).

IMGP3512

I got this book as a way to help my 4 year old daughter become familiar with scripture.  The verses this book use are pretty simple, but even more than that, they make talking about and understanding them simple as well.  I appreciated how everything was broken down in kiddie terms, easy questions are asked and simple examples of prayers are given. This book makes me think of The Lord’s Prayer and how Jesus helped teach his disciples how to pray.  As a parent, with lots of stuff going on around me, it’s nice to get back to the basics.  Our kids need us to teach them what scripture means, how to pray and eventually they will take the reigns and do it themselves.  Until then, this is a great tool to use to help get the scripture into our kids’ brains.

IMGP3511

Each chapter has scripture memorization, a devotional talking about the scripture, questions and a prayer for you to say about how we can apply the scripture to our daily lives. I would definitely recommend adding this book to your morning or nighttime routine with your child.  At the end of every devotion, are the simple words: “God’s Word is for me and to me, it is in me and working through me, and just like His love, it goes on and on forever!”  I love that truth and I love that my daughter picked up on it quickly.  My child is eager to learn and what better thing to learn than God’s word.  I am confident you will enjoy your experience with this book.  Take it, use it and watch your child’s faith grow.

BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.  My thoughts and opinions are my own.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for this review! I love the Jesus Storybook Bible and some of the other children’s Bibles for my kids, but I do feel like we are missing the true Scripture. We’ll have to get this!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      We love the Jesus Storybook Bible too! But yes, this is a great devotional for focusing on some key scripture verses in a child-friendly language. I’m always amazed at what my 4 year old can understand and it’s always so much more than I give her credit for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

