A Tribute to My Friend

I have been blessed in my life to have had a number of really good friends.  I cannot count the number of times that we’ve laughed until our sides hurt.  Crowdtap challenged me to write a post about one of my best friends, so here it is.

This is Laura.

10398902_78310513720_2773870_n Our friendship began in 2003.  I had graduated Bible College with a 2 year degree and moved back home to go to the college my dad retired from (because I got a discount).  I didn’t really know what I was doing, but I did it well and had fun.  I started going to The Christian Campus House, where I had a few acquaintances.  One night after DIG (our Wednesday night gathering) was over, Laura handed me an invitation to her 21st birthday party.  I was shocked.  I didn’t really know her and not everyone got invited.  I may have seemed confident, but I was pretty intimidated.  We were going dancing.  That night, amongst the attempts to keep the creepy guys from bumping and grinding on the other girls in our group, we bonded and became fast friends.  We liked the same music, the same foods, we liked going to concerts and most importantly, she laughed at my dumb jokes.  I am thankful for her kind and generous heart and how even when there were lots of miles in-between us, she made our friendship a priority.  She was there.

She was there, constantly surprising me for my birthdays (even though we lived hours apart).  She was there when I was first falling in love with my husband.  She knew something was up even before I did.

190580_4567974618_1469_n

She was there when I got married and was so nervous that I had to pee every 5 seconds….

199860_4572704618_4714_n

She was there (shortly after) the birth of my kids, even though she would say she’s not really a kid person.  She loves mine anyway and makes a terrific Aunt.

581853_10151373108078721_588811883_n

She was there for me, during the scary time that I turned 30.  She even made an “I love Bree” shirt.  Awwww

35036_10151253351334239_1609808379_n

 She was there for my kids’ crazy themed birthday parties and I know she’ll continue to be.  She is loyal.

484937_10101138309490610_1728339513_n

We used to call her Lucky Laaaura.  It was her Xanga name, but she was also notorious for winning things…. like that time she was at a Wheel of Fortune viewing and she won a really nice camera.  She is lucky in a lot of ways, but I would say that I’m lucky too, because I have her as a friend.  Thanks Laura for sticking it out with me.  I look forward to many more laughs with you!  You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

