Pesto Pasta Salad Recipe and Barilla Collezione Casarecce Pasta Review

Casarecce is the traditional pasta used in Sicilian pesto recipes.  It is a short, wide strip of pasta loosely rolled like a scroll.  For never having tried casarecce pasta before, I was pleasantly surprised.  I appreciated the sturdy texture of the noodle, it held sauce well and the noodle was still soft and pleasant.  I looked at the recipes and I decided to do my own version of the Barilla® Collezione Casarecce Siciliane with Pesto “alla Trapanese”.  It was really bright and flavorful and this was a perfect noodle for the dish.  The box gives you instructions for cooking your noodle “al dente,” but I cooked it a little longer because I like a softer noodle.  I would definitely purchase this pasta again and I am looking forward to trying some of the other noodles in the Barilla Collezione collection.  If you love basil and/or pesto, you’ve got to try this beautifully fresh and bright super simple dish!  Check out the recipe below.

barilla3

Ingredients

  • 1 12oz. Box Barilla Collezione Casarecce Pasta
  • 6.7oz. Jar of Pesto
  • Cherry or Grape Tomatos
  • Finely Shredded Parmesan Cheese
  • **Optional: Feel free to add more vegetables if you would like. Black olives, asparagus and peas would go well with these flavors.

Instructions

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on box.
  2. Rinse with cold water, set aside to drain.
  3. Cut cherry/grape tomatos in half or thirds, depending on size.
  4. Mix drained pasta with pesto.
  5. Mix in and top with tomatoes and shredded parmesan cheese.
  6. Serve and enjoy!

I was given an opportunity to sample this pasta in exchange for my review through Bzz Agent.  My thoughts and opinions are completely my own.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina Kelly says:

    Love you page. sound like a good recipe.

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Looks delicious

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Jenny Finney says:

    This is right up my alley! this is such a simple and easy to make recipe! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Nicholle Scala says:

    This sounds delicious. I will definitely have to try it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

