The Berenstain Bears and the Biggest Brag by Mike Berenstain-Book Review

Did you know that there are Living Light Berenstain Bear books that teach lessons about how God wants us to live?  Neither did I, until I got this book!  This book begins by talking about how Brother and Sister Bear have so many different talents and how proud they are of them.  It then shows how easily their pride can turn into bragging.  They start trying to one up (or top) each other, but it just becomes pointless arguing.  When Grizzly Gramps hears them, he offers a wise lesson on how bragging turns you into a fool and what the Bible says about pride.

I enjoyed the story, classic characters and illustrations.  I do wonder though, if the Berenstain Bears will ever bring their fashion into the 21st century.  Not a big deal, but might make it a little more appealing to older children.  Mother Bear especially looks a little ridiculous, but Gramps is well on his way to being a hipster, if only he had a mustache.  Hahaha Oh well.

berenstain

My daughter just turned 4 a couple months ago so I was afraid that she would loose interest quickly with all of the text in this book, but she really didn’t.  I also had to switch (or omit) some of the words so that my daughter could understand them (sulking, fretting, Kuiper belt and the older way that the scripture reads on the cover- pride goeth before a fall), but it wasn’t very hard to do.  When we got to the end of the book, I was pleasantly surprised that there were discussion questions and activities.  I loved having them to guide my communication with my daughter about what it means to brag and why we shouldn’t brag.  I would recommend this book.  It is a great topic for parents to discuss with their children because they deal with it so often amongst their friends.  It will be nice to reference this book and go back to it for biblical encouragement.  This book is recommended for children between the ages of 4 and 8.

IMGP3177

BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.  My thoughts and opinions are my own.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. We’ve read a lot of B.Bears books, but I’ve never seen this one. It is time to replace some of our more well-loved copies, so I will have to track this one down and add it to the bookshelf.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for checking out my review and commenting!

      Like

  2. Tamara says:

    I remember when I was a kid that these books always contained words that I didn’t understand. I need to add some to my daughter’s little library in her room. I loved these growing up!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha, I guess that’s just part of learning. I’m always amazed at how quickly my daughter can hear me explain a weird word once and then the next day she’s using it in a sentence.

      Like

  3. Kristina says:

    Interesting, my kids love Berenstain Bears too. I didn’t even know about this book. I agree about updating their fashions too, lol!

    Like

  4. Breetalks says:

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

