KissMe Organics Matcha Green Tea Review & Recipe

 

matcha1

What is Matcha?  Matcha is a concentrated green tea powder, ultimately derived from gyokuro.  It has been consumed in Japan for almost 1000 years.  It was traditionally reserved for royalty, religious dignitaries and spiritual leaders.

mATCHA2

What are the benefits?  Matcha provides 4-6 hours of mild steady energy as it acts both as a stimulant and a relaxant.  It can increase thermogenesis (the body’s rate of burning calories).  It is filled with antioxidants, which boost your body’s natural defense to oxidation and could help prevent age related diseases.  It helps protect skin from UV rays, while improving blood flow and overall skin quality.  Pretty good, right?

How do you use it?  There are many ways to use Matcha.  I was first introduced to it when I worked at Starbucks.  They have a green tea latte made with Matcha.  It sounds weird, but I would describe it as having an earthly or grassy flavor.   I fell in love with it in the summer mixed with vanilla soy milk, melon syrup and shaken up with ice.  It was sweet, creamy and refreshing.  There were times when I would crave this drink, maybe it was my body’s way of telling me I needed more antioxidants.  You can use it to make hot lattes, smoothies, shakes, popsicles or you can even use it to bake with!  I will be honest and say that it doesn’t smell very good and it definitely has an acquired taste, a little goes a long way, but the health benefits are undeniable.

Kiss Me Organics Matcha:  It was a beautiful bright green color, which ensures that it is not stale.  It had a fine powdery consistency, good for mixing and had a very fresh earthy flavor.  I feel that this product is a very good high quality green tea concentrate.  I would recommend it.  Okay, now for the fun part!  Let me get you started with a simple recipe of how I enjoy my matcha.

Iced Green Tea Latte Recipe

Fill a shaker 1/4 of the way with ice, add 3/4 cup of milk (I used vanilla soy milk), 1 tsp. of matcha powder, and your choice of sweetener to taste (I like to use a simple syrup, but you could use whatever you want: honey, vanilla, etc).

IMGP2452

Put a lid on and shake aggressively until all or most of the matcha is dissolved.  Pour over a little more ice.  It should have a nice foam on top.  It is normal for some of the matcha to settle on the bottom of glass.  If this bothers you, reshake or strain.  Enjoy!

IMGP2455

KissMe Organics is exclusive to Amazon.com and also has a Money Back Guarantee!  If you are not fully satisfied with the product, return it within 30 days, no questions asked, for a full refund.

Have you ever tried Matcha before?  If so, in what forms?  Do you have any recipes you could share with us?

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

[yumprint-recipe id=’3′]

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds awesome! I have never tried matcha before.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      You should! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Jaya Pandey says:

    This definitely looks like worth trying. I am a fan of green tea too but so far I consume it as hot tea only. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      What is your favorite green tea brand?

      Like

  3. I have tried Matcha before but not in this form. Your iced green tea latte sounds delicious! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’m curious how you’ve tried matcha….I have only had it in latte form hot or iced.

      Like

  4. Terri says:

    I have never tried green tea, but my hubby loves it

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’ll be honest, I don’t love brewed green tea, iced or hot, in tea bags, but I do like the matcha form. It packs more of a punch and seems fuller. You should give it a try! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

