My Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day

I should have known that it was going to be a rough one.  It was Monday.  Aren’t Monday’s always bad?  It started out okay.  I’ve been trying to learn how to manage 3 kids at home by myself and I thought I was getting the hang of it.  I wear the baby (who is 1 month old) for part of the day so I can be hands free.  I had already emptied the dish washer, deep cleaned 2 shelves and 2 drawers in the refrigerator, put in a load of laundry and fed the kids lunch.  Pretty good, right?  I mean, everyone was alive and I could even hear laughing in the house.  Then it started…..

I was nursing Stryker in the living room when Kannon comes in.  I take a whiff.  I can smell him.  I can see his diaper sagging and oh, is that poop on the sides of his legs? Yes, yes it is. He tries to climb on the couch. NOOOOO! DON’T MOVE! He smiles and keeps trying to climb on the couch, rubbing his legs on the furniture.  I try to get Stryker off the boob and lay him on the couch quickly, but I interrupted his lunch so of course he is screaming.

10247306_10152366974282791_4593738822609172902_n

 

I take Kannon to his bedroom and attempt to clean him up with wipes but he is covered and needs more than puny little wipes.  So I get the bath going and put him in it. Stryker is still crying so I get him and try to burp him, but it was too late.  He spits up all over me and all over himself.  I get him sorta changed and happy for the moment.  I check on Kannon.  Then I peek in on Josephine in her room (where they had been playing).  I see poop smeared on 2 chairs so I clean them.  Then I see poop on the bed, so I take the fitted sheet off to be washed. Who knows where else it is…..I go back in bathroom to finish cleaning Kannon up, just as he is pouring water over the side of the tub.  NOOOOO!  Well, the bathroom floor needed to be cleaned, so I’ll count that as a victory and mark it off my To Do list for the day.  I finally get him washed up, but he doesn’t want to get out of the tub.  He fights me a little bit, but I win.  I get him in a new diaper and clothed.  The chaos is dying down, but sometimes the silence is just as concerning as the noise.  Jos has been too quite and won’t answer when I call, so I walk in her room.  UGH!  She has picked a bunch of holes in her memory foam mattress topper!

IMGP2307

 

I take away her Elsa dress and yell a little bit about how disappointed I am.  I declare it nap time for everyone!  Thankfully, Kannon lays down without a fight, clearly exhausted from the whole poop ordeal.  Jos falls asleep on a pile of blankets on her floor because her bed has no sheet. Stryker keeps crying off and on. It’s 2:00, I haven’t had lunch yet.  Popcorn & Dr. Pepper it is, because I can’t think anymore and I don’t have anything stronger in the house.  And that was my Monday….or all of it that I can remember at least.

I share this with you, not for your pity because I know we’ve all had days like this, but to let you laugh with my chaos.  I can just hear the circus music playing in the background.  Have you had a day where nothing seemed to go right?  Tell me about it so I can know I’m not the only one!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Ok i died laughing. I know what you mean chaos. I jave 3 girls!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Glad you can relate! 😀

      Like

  2. Terri says:

    You poor thing, I wish I was close to you, id come and give you a spa day! Well deserved

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      How could I convince you to move? There are several houses for sale in our neighborhood! 😉

      Like

  3. Ai says:

    Oh, yes, I’ve had many days like this, I’ve lost count. Those poopie (and I mean it literally) are the worst because somehow everything else snowballs … kind of like what happened with you. 🙂 A few times I’ve had to scrub down walls and everything in the room because one of my kids decides to get artsy with their poop. It’s good to laugh about those times now. They make for good memories and blog posts! 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes! Thank you for sharing! I haven’t had any poo paintings….yet, but I guess I’ve got time.

      Like

  4. Wow, that sounds like some days I’ve had!! My kids can be total homewreckers! You are definitely not on your own there.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

  5. Kids are chaos for sure. My daughter once ate the sides of her bed pretending to be a beaver when she was playing too quietly for too long in her bedroom. Scraped up three sides of her beautiful espresso bed. ARGH. http://heavennotharvard.com/2014/06/14/welcome-to-the-club/

    Like

  6. Tami says:

    Oh, you’re not alone! Days like this make me wanna cry. Crying actually makes me feel better.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I’ve definitely cried before, but crying makes me tired, more tired than I already am if that’s possible!

      Like

  7. lol. Don’t worry. you’re totally not the only one!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks! Us moms gotta stick together! 🙂

      Like

  8. This has happened many times at our house. Poopiness and craziness, you are not alone. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      And I’m sure it won’t be the last….

      Like

Leave a Reply

