Stryker Cash Courtney- A (short & sweet) Birth Story

I woke up around 2:00 in the morning on October 12th 2014, feeling a little uncomfortable. I had been having Braxton Hicks at night so I thought that this was all these were.  I was exactly 37 weeks, so it was a little early, but Kannon had come at 37 weeks so it wasn’t out of the realm of possibility.  I took a bath to relax and decided around 3:30 to wake my husband up to help me time the contractions.  He HATES that I always go into labor in the middle of the night, like I’m purposefully plotting against his precious sleep……it’s all about him. Haha Anyway, the contractions were consistent and getting more intense.  I wasn’t able to relax and stay in one position anymore.  I was up and down and all over the place.  This being my third, I was a little worried that he might come super fast.  So around 4, we called my mom to drive up (at least an hour drive) and be with our other 2 kiddos (ages 3 and 1 1/2), but by 4:30, we realized we just needed to get to the hospital, just in case.  We piled the groggy kids in the car, not even changing them out of their pajamas.  It was normally a 30 min. drive to our hospital, but the roads were clear and I’m pretty sure Jason made it there in 15 min. He did not want to deliver a baby in the car.  I mean, how many times in your life do you have a really good excuse to speed?

When we got to the hospital, I was dilated to a 4.  I thought this meant that they would automatically keep me, but they made me labor in Triage for what seemed like FOREVER before they decided I was progressing enough to stay.  All I knew is that I was in PAIN and not going anywhere!  This was the most intense pain I had felt so far with any of my labors.  And so much of that pain was in my lower back that I really just wanted an epidural so that I could get a little break.  My mom finally got to the hospital to pick the kids up, so they didn’t have to witness first hand where babies come from….I wasn’t quite ready for that conversation.  My mom coached me through some breathing for a little while. I hated the birthing ball and found that being my hands and knees on the bed was the best for the moment.  Once I hit a 6, my mom took the kids and I was moved to the labor and delivery room.  Here is a picture of my wonderful husband and I, the last picture we have as parents of 2.  Don’t be fooled by my smile…..this was in-between contractions.

10703544_10152339369887791_8224830855946687954_n

They started my lab work and gave me an IV so I could get the epidural.  Hallelujah!  I am so impressed with you mommas who do natural births, but I have had wonderful epidurals, I understand that is not the case for everyone.  Anyways, quickly after the glorious juice, I was feeling the pressure, but not the pain and could relax a little, but not for long.  The nurse went ahead and broke my “beautiful bulging bag of water” (her words, not mine) and within 15 minutes, the nurse said she could see the head and was calling in a calm frantic voice for the doctor and telling my husband (who was taking a bathroom break) that he better hurry up cause it was GO time.  As soon as everyone was in their places, it took 1 contraction and 2 small pushes for this guy to explode out.

1016495_10152339592437791_6228963196504868005_n

Introducing: Stryker Cash Courtney – 6 lbs. 5 oz. – 19 inches long –

Born on October 12, 2014 at 9:05 am

Here is Kannon & Josephine meeting their new baby brother.  They kinda like him.  Stryker, we are so blessed for you to be a part of our family.  You are perfect in every way!  We can’t wait to see what God’s big plans are for your life.

babes

How he got his name:  We went into the hospital with 2 names: Cash and River, my husband and I were divided and had been for several months on a name.  During the time I was laboring in Triage, my mom asked if we had a name yet.  We were not expecting to be there quite yet (at 37 weeks), so we were not completely prepared.  We laughed and told her the two names.  Giving a tiny human a name that they will have for the rest of their life is pressure!  You can’t please everyone.  So as I’m in (extreme) pain, laboring, my husband randomly reads the company name on the side of the hospital bed.  STRYKER…..he read it again, out loud and we both said, “I kinda like it.”  We kept saying it and liking it until it stuck.  I liked how unique and strong it was.  With a feminine last name like Courtney, our boys need a tough and manly first name.  So, we talked through it and decided on Stryker Cash Courtney.

strykerbed

We joked that all the nurses were out in the hall snickering that we came in at 37 weeks without a name, panicked and just named him the first thing we saw in the room…..lamp, clock, brake, Stryker, yeah that works! Haha  Anyway, Stryker it was.  Yes, they are a medical technology firm, but we also learned that it wasn’t just that.  It is a real name that has a Danish heritage and means ‘traveling worker’.  So there you have it.  We take inspiration from everywhere!  How did you come up with your kids’ names?  And do you know their meaning?

65527_10152345273592791_7152544531176842630_n

Bringing baby Stryker home!  Please pray for this new season of craziness as a family of 5!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. The naming story is hilarious. We love you guys and your family. Congrats!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      We can find inspiration anywhere! 😀

      Like

  2. Melanie says:

    I hate telling anyone the names we pick. My first one was the only one that had a name before we got to the hospital. The second one was nameless for a while after he was born! Thanks for sharing your story! He’s a doll baby!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I know! Right? How long after your 2nd was born did it take to come up with a name?

      Like

  3. I LOVE the name you chose! That’s hilarious, and a good story to tell when he grows up. So happy he arrived safe and well, beautiful little babe ❤

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your story! The name is the best part, everyone always asks “how did you pick the name”

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I know and it’s a little embarrassing, but mostly funny. 😀 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. Oh, I had Braxton-Hicks contractions, too. They were just AWFUL!
    Your little guy is so handsome!

    Like

  6. Aspen Jay says:

    What a little cutie! With our first, we hadn’t decided on his name until he was two weeks old! (o: How is it adjusting to three? I had difficult time transitioning from one to two…. three will be interesting.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Three was harder for me than two, but the youngest two are much closer together (19 months). My oldest daughter (just turned 4) is a big helper, but 19 months is just a hard on the go age so we’re busy, busy, busy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

