How to: Bake Your Bacon

So this may be super common knowledge to everyone, sometimes I’m late to the party, but this is one of my favorite tricks that I’ve learned recently for making breakfast and brunch easier.  BAKE YOUR BACON!  Preparation is quick and there is no need to be a slave to the stove and risk getting burned by hot splattering grease.  Plus clean up is easy and the results are great!  This is the only way I will cook my bacon now!

What You Need:

Bacon

Foil

Baking Sheet

IMGP1929

First, preheat your oven to 375º.  Cover your baking sheet with foil.  Then lay your bacon out on the pan in strips (you can overlap a tiny bit, but not too much or it will all stick together).  When oven is preheated, place pan of bacon inside and set your timer for 20 min.  When timer goes off, check bacon to make sure it has shrunk up and has a nice brown color.  Remove and place on a paper towel to drain.  Bacon will crisp up a little more after it sets, but if it’s not crispy enough, you can always pop it back in the oven for a bit longer.  If you are making more on the same pan, carefully pour the excess bacon grease into a high heat resistant dish or jar to save for later or to dispose of.  If you aren’t making more, you can wait until grease solidifies and dispose of aluminum foil and grease all at once.  Bacon can be stored in a ziploc bag in the fridge for several days.

What are your favorite dishes that you use bacon for?  I love using it in my potato soup and making good ole classic BL(A-avocado)T toasted sandwiches.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. I just recently started baking my bacon too! I love it! No more grease splatters!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes Tarynn, exactly! and it still is yummy and crispy too! Plus the stove top is free for eggs or pancakes! 😀

      Like

  2. Donella says:

    I love baking bacon. Frying it scares me–always afraid I’ll be hit with grease. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Those pops of grease are brutal, especially when I have toddlers running around. Baking really is best! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  3. Ai says:

    This is my favorite way to cook bacon! I read somewhere that many restaurants prepare them this way. You get a much better crisp!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      It’s great! How did I not know about it until this year!?

      Like

  4. I discovered this method a few months ago and omg!!! Best discovery ever!!! Thanks for sharing and if anyone hasn’t tried it… Please do lol

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. Kate says:

    So smart. Pinning!!

    Like

  6. I started baking my bacon last year and thought, “what was I thinking before!” Standing over a hot stove getting splattered is hardly fun. I love bacon on potato soup and just had a turkey, bacon, guacamole sandwich. Great instructions on how to bake your bacon.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yum! You’re making me hungry! My favorites!

      Like

  7. Kori says:

    We bake our bacon for cooking purposes. Though slightly different method than yours. Comes out great every time 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      What is your method Kori?

      Like

  8. Melodi Steinberg says:

    wow? Who knew you could bake bacon?

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      It’s such a great tip!

      Like

  9. Laura says:

    I love this! Sounds easy to do, which I like!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      It is super easy! Just for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

