How to make your own: Chili Seasoning

Fall is well on it’s way and I’m thinking of one of my favorite ways to keep warm: Chili!  This is a great dish to prepare for a crowd or to freeze for easy pull out meals (which is what I did!  Baby #3 will be arriving soon!).  A few months ago, I put up a recipe for Taco Seasoning, today I’m adding chili seasoning to the blog!  They have a lot of the same ingredients and it is just as easy plus a great money saver!  Check it out!

What You Need:

2 Tbs. onion soup mix (or minced dried onion)

1 Tbs. flour

1 1/2 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. garlic salt

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper (if making for kids, you might cut back)

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes (if making for kids, you might cut back)

1/2 tsp. sugar

Use as much or as little as you need per recipe, but 3 T. = approximately 1 packet of Chili Seasoning.  Store in an airtight container or ziplock bag and do not expose to moisture.  I love eating chili a few ways: just as shown below, but smothered in cheese and crackers, on a salad with tortilla chips and sour cream or as I learned in Joplin, on top of spaghetti noodles and called Spaghetti Red!

IMGP1953

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Chanity says:

    I’ve never made my own chili before! I will definitely be giving this a shot. Looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      So glad! It is really easy & cheap too!

      Like

  2. This sounds so yummy!!! Thank you for sharing deary ❤❤❤❤

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      You’re quite welcome! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. Donella says:

    Thanks for posting. I’ve had to recreate chili seasoning before, but I left out the garlic powder by accident, and it wasn’t quite the same. Pinning!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Love the garlic…..sometimes I even add extra! 🙂

      Like

  4. Tammy Falletti says:

    My hubby loves trying new chili recipes. I’m going to pass this one on to him.

    Like

  5. Christine says:

    I always loved the smell of chili but can’t stand the texture/taste of beans. With this seasoning, I could always just use it on the meat and leave out the beans!! YAY!! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Great idea! You could use lots of yummy veggies or quinoa in place of the beans too.

      Like

  6. Thanks for sharing. I make chili at least once a week at my house. It’ll be nice to try out this seasoning blend and switch up the flavors.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  7. Love this! I make my own taco seasoning all the time and its the best! I also make homemade chili, but the recipe is VERY bland, so I always end up adding random seasonings until it tastes good! I can’t wait to give this recipe a try! Off to pin it! 😀

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for pinning! Hope you enjoy it! The great thing is that this is the base and you can always adapt to taste!

      Like

Leave a Reply

