Juicy Oven Baked Chicken Nuggets

I don’t usually have buttermilk in the fridge, but recently I made some yummy fried pickles & french toast, so I had a little bit leftover to find a use for.  I also had a couple chicken breasts that needed to be used up, so I decided to make some chicken nuggets.  These were the most tender and juicy (melt in your mouth) chicken nuggets I’ve ever had.  I was really impressed with how they turned out and super easy to make!  The coating had a little crunch, but definitely not super crispy, so if super crispy is your thing, these might not be for you.

What You Need:

1 cup buttermilk (well shaken)

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 sleeve Ritz crackers (finely smashed)

1/8 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp. garlic salt

Pepper to taste

**TIP: If you don’t have buttermilk, make some!  Add a TBS. of vinegar to a cup of whole milk and let sit for an hour**

1.  Preheat oven to 400º, then trim any fat off of your chicken.  Pound (I use the bottom of a mason jar) your chicken breasts down so that they are pretty uniform in thickness.  Cut into nugget size bites and let soak in the buttermilk for at least 20-30 min.

IMGP1918

2.  While your chicken is soaking,  Smash your Ritz Crackers in a zip lock bag (kids love to help with this step).  The finer you crush them, the better they will coat and stick to the chicken.  Put cracker crumbs in a separate bowl and mix in your parmesan & garlic salt.

3.  Once your chicken has been soaking up that buttermilk for a decent amount of time, coat them (a couple at a time) in the breading and place on a lightly sprayed baking sheet.

IMGP1919

4.  Bake for 10 min, turn your nuggets over and bake for another 10 min.  Make sure they are cooked through with no pink in the middle.  Serve with your favorite dipping sauce!

IMGP1920

 These can be kept in the refrigerator for several days or even frozen for a few weeks.  My kids love ketchup.  I love ranch and my husband loves BBQ sauce.  What is your favorite dipping sauce for chicken nuggets?

[yumprint-recipe id=’4′]

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Crystal & Co says:

    Huge fan of homemade chicken nuggets here! What a great recipe!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks Crystal & Co!

      Like

  2. Alyssa says:

    THese look delicious. I LOVE Chicken nuggets!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      We do to! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  3. I like that “frozen” part. I’ll definitely be trying this and freezing the leftovers. My son likes BBQ for dipping at home and anywhere we go. I like Ranch. My husband like Honey Mustard.

    Like

  4. Shanna Autry says:

    This looks delicious! The only way my children will eat chicken is if it’s in the form of a nugget. This looks like a great alternative to serve them. We’re a ranch lovin’ household.

    Linking up from the Southern Social 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

