Baked Brie & Cherry in Puff Pastry

BREE FOR PRESIDENT!!

IMGP1611

I’m a nerd, I know and I would make a terrible president so don’t vote for me.  As you probably know, my name is Bree, so for years when people have heard my name, they have responded with, “Oh, like the cheese!”  I never thought I liked the cheese that mocked my name, until I had it baked.  This recipe is creamy and buttery with a little salt, a little tart, a little sweet and a whole lot of deliciousness!  If you have never had this, you MUST try it!  Make it when you have friends coming over and they will be singing your praises.  The recipe is so easy and definitely one of my favorite splurges!  Every once in awhile when I find Brie Cheese wheels on sale, I will stock up and freeze them.  Did you know that most cheeses freeze pretty well?  Okay, so on to the good stuff!

What You Need:

1 Wheel Brie Cheese

1 Sheet Puff Pastry

1 Beaten Egg

1/4 Cup Fruit Preserves (Cherry, Apple, Cranberry, Apricot, Raspberry, etc.)

Optional: Chopped Pecans or Almonds

IMGP1614

Set 1 sheet of Puff Pastry out to thaw for approximately 40 min. before preparation.  Preheat oven to 425.  Lightly grease pan.  Cut Brie wheel (no need to remove rind) in half so that you have two round pieces.  Unfold Puff Pastry and place 1/2 Brie cheese wheel in the middle.   Add preserves, then the other half of the Brie wheel, like a sandwich.  (Optional: If you are using nuts, add them on top of the fruit preserves).  Like this:

brie

Now fold puff pastry up into the center and seal it as much as possible.  Brush top with whisked egg wash.

IMGP1619

Bake 18-25 min. or until a nice golden brown.  Serve with crispy crackers.  Also pairs excellent with arugula salad and grapes.

photo 3

It is really super delicious and I wish my picture was better, but I forgot my camera when I took this to a friends house, so you have a phone picture.  I mean, yum!  Can’t wait to make this one again and again and again.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. YUM! Where was this at brunch??? 😉

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Maybe next time! We need to have those (brunches or girly time) more often anyways!

      Like

  2. Debi says:

    You had me at brie! 🙂 Looks delicious.

    Like

  3. CourtneyLynne says:

    Omg these sound absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! Wish I had one right now!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

