DIY Framed Chalkboard Sign

Well, nonni’s birthday isn’t until October, but I’m sure she wouldn’t mind if you went ahead and got her a gift!  I found this fun vintagy (yes, I make up my own words sometimes) picture frame for $1 at a thrift store.  I knew I wanted to paint it, but debated on what to put in it.  I decided I wanted a fun chalkboard to hang or set in my kitchen.  I could use it to write a shopping list, the dinner menu or a fun welcome for guests at a party.  I like the way it turned out, as simple as it is.  It fits the kitchen well and I love the color!

What You Need: 

Picture Frame

Primer & Spray Paint

Smooth Scrap Wood

Chalkboard Paint

IMGP1640

My husband had a bunch of scrap wood, so I pillaged through it and found a thin smooth piece to fit inside (he had to trim it slightly).  This is the board I painted with the chalkboard paint.  It took a couple coats to get the coverage I wanted, but dried really quickly.  Then I primed the picture frame, a step anyone can do!  Just make sure you shake your can for a couple minutes and spray slowly, but evenly back and forth.  If you spray one spot too long, you will get drippage and ain’t nobody got time for that.  After your primer is dry, you do the same step over again, but with your spray paint color of choice.  You may have to do a couple coats to get the final look you want.  Let that dry really well and then add your chalkboard insert to the frame.  Viola!  Pick a spot, any spot!  I forgot to take mid progress pictures as I was painting everything, so let me know if you have any questions or if anything is unclear.

IMGP1796

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy says:

    What is the name of the color and product you used for the blue? Thanks!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Isn’t it a great color! It is Rustoleum Ultra Cover 2X Spray Paint in “Satin Lagoon”. The color is much prettier than the name it was given. LOL

      Like

  2. Melissa says:

    Would love to make this!

    Like

  3. CourtneyLynne says:

    Ahhhhh love it!!!! I have a chalkboard paint obsession 😉

    Like

  4. Really cute! I really like that color your used. I have been meaning to make something like this for my son in his room. This may have inspired me to finally start it.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks! It’s super easy, but finding the time and motivation is the hardest part! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

