Taco Seasoning Mix

My family loves taco night, but have you ever planned a taco night and then realized that you didn’t have a taco seasoning packet on hand?  That happened to me last night as my ground beef was browning on the stovetop.  I panicked when I pulled out that little packet that I thought was taco seasoning and realized it was actually onion soup mix.  Well, that just will not do.  I debated running to the Dollar General Store down the street to get some and then started rummaging through my spices.  I had a very good base to make my own mix.  You can improvise with what you have on hand, but these spices are really pretty cheap.  I picked most of them up at Dollar General for $1 and now I am set on Taco Seasoning for awhile.  Hallelujah!  Add or subtract spices that you love or don’t love.  The cornstarch acts as a thickener when you simmer the meat and seasonings in water, but if you don’t have corn starch, don’t add very much (if any) water.  Here is my (sound of record scratching) Taco Seasoning BREEEEEE-MIX!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:8]

tacotuesday

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, I have all these spices in my cupboard! Taco Seasoning all this time and I never knew it. Thanks, Bree! I always end up finding stew-mix seasoning in my cupboard (which I never use anyway) instead of taco. This will be good to have on hand. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I had to go buy Paprika, but other than that, I had everything!

      Like

  2. Chastity says:

    I’ve wanted to make this FOREVER, but I always forget to. I have all of these ingredients for making salsa, I just need to make a batch for taco night.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Do it!!!! 🙂 It is soooo easy! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. sojourner says:

    I’ve always wondered what made those packets so tasty. I can’t wait for taco night now 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Hahaha! Spice, more spice and everything nice!

      Like

  4. Erin Foerch says:

    This is great for me because I have allergies to MSG but I love Mexican food. Thanks for posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

