Fresh Roasted Corn Salsa

I am sitting here while my children sleep and I cannot stop eating this.  Okay, I stopped, but just long enough to share this recipe with you (which is too long, I’m already having withdrawals).  It is super simple and yet full of flavor and fresh textures.  Soooo good!  And the other great thing about this recipe is you pretty much just throw everything together, so you can add more or less of something if you like or omit something completely.  It’s pretty foolproof.  I always make this when I have too many tomatoes and some are beginning to get soft and wrinkly.  They make perfect salsa!  I wanted to add the word “chunky” to the title, but my husband hates that word.  I think it makes him feel insecure, no but seriously, he told me I couldn’t use it.

What You Need:

2 Diced Tomatoes (or 1 Can Diced Tomatoes)

Juice from 1/2 Lime (or 1 1/2 TBS Lime Juice)

1 Can Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilis

1/4 Diced Onion

1 Roasted Ear of Corn

1/3 Cup Chopped Cilantro

1 tsp. Diced Garlic

1/4 tsp. Chili Powder

1/4 tsp. Cumin

Salt & Pepper to Taste

IMGP1429

(My can of diced tomatoes & green chills is missing from the picture & I added a little bit more onion)

1.  Start by roasting your corn.  Preheat oven to 400º. Butter corn, salt & pepper generously and sprinkle with a little bit of chili powder.  Place on a foil covered pan in oven for approximately 20-30 minutes until the corn starts to get some browning color.  You can also grill the corn, but since I was only doing one ear, I opted for roasting.

2.  Dice your tomatoes, onions and cilantro.  Cut the kernels off your corn.  Open your can of diced tomatoes and green chills.  Combine everything in a bowl.  Add your seasonings and lime juice.  Mix everything together well.

IMGP1431

Of course I can say that the flavors marry better after it has sat in the refrigerator for 30 min. or more, but who can wait?  Serve with chips, add to a taco salad or serve atop a burrito.

IMGP1441

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Linda says:

    Yes! I love LOVE all things Salsa!! Especially when corn is added! Pass the chips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

