My Unedited Life with Toddlers

Have you ever tried to make a nice dinner or put books back on a bookshelf or clean up anything at all with a toddler or two?  If you have, you have probably struggled like I have and it has ended in a laugh or cry of frustration.  I was going to roast a chicken for dinner.  In my mind, I saw everyone sitting at the table as a family, all of the food getting done at the same time and angels singing as my family rejoiced at how delicious everything was and of course they gobbled up the healthy vegetables too…..and then I snap out of it.  One of my kids is whining about being starving, I realize the chicken wasn’t going to be done for another hour and have to come up with a backup plan and the other little one is slapping my thighs as I try to move around the kitchen.   No, seriously.  You can imagine the wonders this did for my self esteem.  Jiggle.  Jiggle.

IMGP1275

Chaos.

No Kannon, sticking your head in-between my legs is not any better.

IMGP1276

And then there’s the rest of the house….

101_4560

My daughter got into a routine where every morning she would meticulously set up all the toys, pillows and blankets in the hallway.  Do I squelch her creativity or do I let her imagine that this “mess” is something great?  Don’t worry, she’ll help me clean it up.  Maybe, depending on how big of a battle I want to fight.  Becoming a mom, I’ve had to loosen my OCD grip on perfection, become uncomfortable and give in sometimes….a lot of times.  The house is usually a mess when my husband gets home from work (after I feel like I have already been cleaning it all day), dinner is never on the table at the right time and rarely is appreciation spoken or felt.

Being a stay-at-home-mom is hard work, constant work, tiring work, but so is being a dad, any working parent or involved grandparent.  We all have tasks that are expected of us and we all fail at one point or another, whether it’s failing to our own ideals or someone else’s.  We are hard on ourselves and we are hard on each other.  I am so thankful for a God who loves us right where we are at and does not demand perfection.  I am thankful for the times that my husband shows me grace, having no idea what kind of day I had.  I know I could always show him more.  I could also show more to my kids and myself.  My life sometimes seems so crazy that I wonder if it will ever get caught back up to a manageable state.  I have to continually remind myself that that this is a season, a season that will fly by.  In 30 years, I will miss the babies running around my feet and their constant need of me.  I also have to be confident with who I am, that I am not perfect, nor will I ever be, but that I am still dearly loved.  This doesn’t make the chaos any easier, but it helps change my mindset and allows me to live in the moment a little more, embrace some of the chaos and be okay with my imperfections.  Or maybe I’ll say “screw it all” and  just take a nap on the kitchen floor.

kannonfloor

What are some of the struggles you deal with on a daily basis and how do you handle it?  Also, how often do you speak encouraging and empowering words to those around you, whether it’s yourself, your kids, spouse or other parents?  Let’s practice this more.

44 Comments Add yours

  1. dawn mayo says:

    LOVE this sweet cuz!

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    Love the new name and layout! What a good reminder to enjoy the season of life you are in!

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      Thanks Laura! It is a fun crazy season of life…..better shared with friends.

      Like

  3. Aw, no worries on the thigh slapping. You are smokin’ hot mama! Also, this post is great. Happy to follow your new blog!

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      Thanks Melissa! I need to hire you to give me some blogging advice and tutorials….plus we just need to get together to celebrate your birthday.

      Like

  4. Ashley Lande says:

    You are a good mama, Bree! I think a lot about how I’ll eventually miss these days, too!

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      You are sweet Ashley. Thanks. It is crazy how quickly time flies. I know each age will bring different challenges, but sometimes it seems I’m living in a circus!

      Like

  5. Carrie Wagliardo says:

    I love the picture of Kannon on the floor. Was he asleep? Looks like you have a lot of busy days!

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      Isn’t it funny? No, he was not asleep. I think he had just given up on me for a moment, but was also tired.

      Like

  6. Rebecca says:

    Love the new blog! Brings back a lot of wonderful memories for me!!! Enjoy this time because it goes by way too fast!

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      Thanks Rebecca! Some moments of the day are easier to enjoy than others, but overall, I am so very blessed. Keep reminding me to enjoy the chaotic moments.

      Like

  7. Maria says:

    Bree! Love your new blog title design!! Great post too! I was thinking tonight of how crazy this day/wk has been with Jeff out of town, dr appt, errands for the bday party, Sawyer hard core teething and fussy and fighting sleep… And my house is a complete disaster. Not really wanting to have family and friends over to see this. But I have a post it note in my kitchen right now that just says “good enough” and I’ve been trying to remember that. 🙂

    Like

    1. BreeTalks says:

      Thanks Maria! You are an amazing momma. I am constantly encouraged by you and thankful that I am not the only mom who struggles with the day to day craziness. We can do this!

      Like

  8. Yeeeeeessss! Our houses match today, Bree :). Honestly, this post came at the most opportune time.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for commenting, Rachel. He makes me new every morning…I wish that also applied to my messy house. 🙂

      Like

  9. mom says:

    Love you. This too shall pass and someday you will want it all back and it will be impossible to get it back.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks mom. I don’t know how you did it with all of us hooligans!

      Like

  10. Lori Dodson says:

    Wonderful…brought some “enlightenment” to me today! Thanks so much!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for the comment Lori! Hope your day is filled with grace!

      Like

  11. Jamie says:

    You are hilarious…love this! I enjoy and appreciate your humorous honesty. Keep talkin’, Bree! Love you, girl!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks Jamie. The personal posts are the hardest to write. I love sarcasm, but having toddlers bring everything to a whole new level!

      Like

  12. Kori says:

    I really enjoy your writing style 🙂 You have quite the way with words and painted such a picture in my head… even without the accompanying visuals, which only added to it.

    I think that we should all appreciate what we have in life, and take the time to make that appreciation known to the people in our lives. We never know when our last moment with them is going to be.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Haha, can you tell I love sarcasm? 🙂 Thanks for the comment. You are appreciated!

      Like

  13. Shirley Martinez says:

    Omg! I Have a Very Similar Post Coming soon on my blog! Lol so funny ! My Daughter was exactlywhat BOTH your kids do : Head in legs and Chaos in the living room with toys, blankets and pillows

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I can’t wait to read your post! Let me know when it’s published!

      Like

      1. Shirley Martinez says:

        Sure thing Momma!

        Like

  14. Terri says:

    Oh the life as a mom 🙂
    This was well written and I enjoyed it

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  15. Great post! It is hard work being a parent. Really it’s hard work being alive ☺ but it’s much better when we find grace for ourselves and those we love walking the hard journey with us.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes, I need this reminder often! Thanks for sharing in my journey.

      Like

  16. It can be so hard to cook with little ones. My kids are in the I want to help stage, which is nice but it makes the dinner making process take twice as long. I try to give them a few simple tasks like rinsing off veggies so they feel included. I laughed at your “angels singing” line.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      A mom can wish right? 😉

      Like

  17. I have been there-from the jiggling of my legs to the messy hallway. And even if I have a crappy day, I am really, really trying to remember to ask my husband how his was first. As the sole provider for our household, I need to show him my appreciation. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes, it’s so easy to only think about how crazy and terrible your own day was and assume they had a party at work. They work hard for our family! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  18. We moms are never alone in this…..the beautiful visions of a great meal in a calm, clean house. You said it best…you end up in a laugh or cry moment. 🙂

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I feel so much more at ease knowing that I’m not the only one!

      Like

  19. Sarah says:

    Haha! Oh yes… gotta love the toddler years. My goal in the mornings is to get the areas that are blocked off from my preschooler and toddler clean first (ie bathrooms, my bedroom, the kitchen, etc)… then at the end of the bed, after dinner and baths, the kids and I tackle the living room and their bedrooms. That’s helped SOME, it causes much less stress on me that’s for sure! The hardest part is when I do try to clean everything else in the mornings, my son (my toddler) stands at the gate to those rooms yelling, “Mommy mommy mommy mommy… Mommy I NEEEEED you… Mommy where areeeee you?” ❤

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      LOL so funny, but not always! What great cleaning tips! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  20. Lauren says:

    yup, its crazy what us mommies deal with on a daily basis! so funny!

    Like

  21. Stephanie says:

    Cleaning my house is a daily task that never seems to get done. I love having a clean house but it seems like that will just never happen again until my kids move out!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I am totally there! (pull my hair out there!) There are those couple hours after the kids go to sleep that I can pick up a little knowing it won’t immediately be destroyed again….I think that’s why I like to stay up late…to savor those some-what more organized mess. 🙂

      Like

  22. Dana says:

    Enjoy every minute now!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Thank you! I’m trying!

      Like

Leave a Reply

