Easy DIY Scrabble Tile Holder Picture Stands

Repurposing wooden Scrabble tiles has been the rage for quite awhile now.  I’ve seen them used at weddings, on Christmas ornaments, as coasters, framed in wall crosswords, monogram necklaces, etc.  Every time I see a cheap Scrabble game at a garage sale or thrift store, I have to pick it up because there are so many fun uses for them!  I’ve even sold my extra tiles & holders on Ebay for a small profit.  Here is a simple name display in my daughters room.
The stands have long been forgotten and discarded.  Here’s a super simple, yet modern way to use them!  For the picture stand project, get some basic wooden Scrabble tile holders.
I love the natural wood look, but my room decor didn’t have any other light wood so I painted them.  Use them as is or paint them whatever color your little heart desires, my white took a couple coats.

Once the paint is dry, cut some 3M wall stickies in half (lengthwise) and apply to the flat back of holder.  I know, brain science, right?

Now find some small postcards, pictures or cards to display and figure out where you want to hang them.  I tried a few different options around the house (that’s my sons room below), but I  finally settled for the personal photos of family for a spot in my bare hallway.  I had to add a little piece of tape to the back of the photos to keep them from falling off when someone walked by, but I don’t think the heavier cards would require that.
Pretty easy, right?  What projects or gifts have you used Scrabble tiles or tile holders for?   
14 Comments Add yours

  1. Melissa says:

    Cute! And so smart to use those when most crafts only feature the letters!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      And everyone can use picture stands!

      Like

  2. Christine says:

    what a great idea!!!!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      So simple, right?

      Like

  3. Love this! Love that you found a use for the holders!

    Like

  4. lauren says:

    I would have never thought to use double stick tape! What a great idea!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      I love 3M! They hold well and come off clean too!

      Like

  5. Melissande says:

    What a clever and eye catching idea! I LOVE this!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      Yes, I get lots of compliments!

      Like

  6. I too snag up Scrabble games anytime I see them! We make the nameplates but I liked seeing your other ideas too. A great post. My wheels are spinning!

    Like

    1. Breetalks says:

      There’s so many possibilities!

      Like

  7. Really cute idea, I like the use of different game pieces for decor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

